Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Aloft

by synthsmitty - Compo Entry

Stay aloft and travel as far as possible in your hot air balloon. Inflate the balloon to rise higher and grow bigger! Deflate the balloon to descend and grow smaller! Collect fuel to stay aloft longer, and avoid migrating birds! How far can you fly?

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness50%
#70Audio3.81
#84Mood3.77
#165Graphics3.81
#227Overall3.58
#285Fun3.42
#702Theme3.42
#770Innovation2.62

Comments

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23am

Could be a little bit harder in my opinion. :)

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:38am

Sweet simplistic pixel art. Perhaps the game could be more difficult but the music made it pretty relaxing to play, so 4/5 for mood :)

Brandondyer64 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:39am

Failed to load asset.
Invalid format
Failed to load asset.
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.IllegalStateException: Line not open
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioClip.setFramePosition(PulseAudioClip.java:460)
at com.synthsmitty.aloft.Aloft.update(Aloft.java:102)
at com.synthsmitty.gamelib.Game.run(Game.java:82)
at com.synthsmitty.aloft.Aloft.main(Aloft.java:130)

MisterAddy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40am

Doesn't work for me on Linux :( I get this in the terminal:
Failed to load asset.
Invalid format
Failed to load asset.
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.IllegalStateException

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40am

Like the throw back style! Overall a crisp game: well done!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:40am

Nice game, good presentation. I like the music. Kind of a stretch to fit the theme, you could have put in another button for something. I also agree it could be a little more difficult, maybe increase the speed over time like there is a faster wind, or a storm.

Mechamism says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:41am

1005m! Really like the cute style and audio. Very relaxed game play.

ac7 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42am

Got the following error when I attempted to run on Linux x64 with OpenJDK 2.6.3. I entered the command `java -jar Aloft.jar`.

Failed to load asset.
Invalid format
Failed to load asset.
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.IllegalStateException: Line not open
at org.classpath.icedtea.pulseaudio.PulseAudioClip.setFramePosition(PulseAudioClip.java:460)
at com.synthsmitty.aloft.Aloft.update(Aloft.java:102)
at com.synthsmitty.gamelib.Game.run(Game.java:82)
at com.synthsmitty.aloft.Aloft.main(Aloft.java:130)

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42am

Fun game with very cool graphics and music. I do think the music is a bit loud though.

LavWa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42am

Very well done, great artwork !

zlaine says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:46am

691! Lots of fun to play, nice and relaxing and great music. Well done. :)

synthsmitty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:04am

Hey guys, looks like I have a technical issue if you are running the game using the OpenJDK. Sorry for the inconvenience and I'll try to fix the issue!

Caspila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:17am

Absolutely loved the pixel art and 8-bit music. The one thing that felt awkward is that when you hit a bird it doesn't fall, instead it stops moving completely! Great job anyways.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:47am

Game looks good and plays well. Nothing is unique in terms of mechanics.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:02am

Nice graphics and music. Good job.

beetracks says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:20am

Soundtrack and sfx spot on, art well done and nice controls. The only downside is the lack of difficulty. There is almost no challenge.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:46am

Those poor birds! Very charming. good music. I liked it a lot

MarekkPie says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:49am

Extremely pleasant to play. The music was the highlight.

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:50am

Really nice game. It feels high-quality and finished, but simple. Great job!

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:02am

This game was really cute! I liked the art and the music, it was really relaxing and fun to play. Great job!

euske says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:56pm

I loved the overall bright mood and NES-like tune so much! A simple but memorable game. Good job!

cacciatc says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:12am

I got 644! I don't remember seeing the control documented anywhere. Maybe add those to the game description?

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]