Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Starfleet

by ddoomus - Compo Entry

This is an steroid shooter with the intention of incorporating the "Two Button Controls" theme.

Download links go to itch.io, the web player doesn't give the right resolution and doesn't run as nicely, I'd suggest one of the downloaded versions.

Built with
Unity (brand newbie to unity)
Gimp + Blender for models / textures

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#858Mood1.81
#874Graphics2.05
#904Innovation2.17
#943Fun2.06
#945Theme2.28
#958Overall2.21
#1857Coolness36%

Comments

SSJMetroid says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:39am

Controlling was difficult/impossible for me, I'm not sure why... Also, why do you control with 3 buttons and the theme was two buttons? :/

aplomb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:55am

Graphics are goofy but I like them. Like early PS1.

I had a hard time figuring out where I was or going. I seemed to lose track of all asteroids, fly backwards at points, and suddenly jump to a new spot.

EMPBomber says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:57am

A good concept, I like the idea of routing power between systems. But it could use some work some areas. When I was playing, it was difficult to tell how fast I was moving or if I was moving at all. Perhaps include a ground texture or a speedometer to indicate this.

This also made it difficult to keep up with the asteroids and track them. They went out of the game's draw distance after some time.

qwetro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:29am

I really need a windows port. There's problem in my chrome, when I use up/down arrows, the whole page scrolls. Can't control properly.

ruthiepee says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:52am

Just wanted to let you know the OSX version works fine. However the controls are confusing, perhaps some sort of texture on the ground would let the player know which direction they're going. At some point all the asteroids went out of my field of view so I was just aimlessly wandering around.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:59pm

Good concept, but it could definitely use some polish.

UncleChris says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:01pm

It has potential - I agree with others, difficult to tell movement (even if I am at all - I might have diverted from engines and not be moving! ;D) The idea needs some polish, and could be a very cool game.
The rotation on the asteroids health bar was a bit weird at the beginning - thought they had red flags at first.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:19pm

The controls are very hard!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]