Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The True God

by MacDocBros - Jam Entry

Hi everyone!

This is our first time on Ludlum Dare! We're 14 and 11 years old. We hope you like our little game on the theme growing.

THEME: Growing -- Growing your statue and knowing your god more.

If there are any bugs, please let us know.

MacDocBros

EDIT: Windows link is now fixed.

TO BE FIXED: - Flying if spamming jump
- Character flipping over
- Random game over

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#375Humor(Jam)2.89
#639Graphics(Jam)3.20
#649Audio(Jam)2.57
#674Innovation(Jam)2.91
#757Mood(Jam)2.90
#839Overall(Jam)2.96
#939Fun(Jam)2.57
#994Theme(Jam)2.78
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09pm

VEEEEEEEEEEEEEERY fun graphics george
i like them
thou the windows file is corrupted

MacDocBros says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17pm

Oh, sry for that! It will be fixed as soon as possible!

kennethlng says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:04am

Hey, I couldn't get the download to work for Windows. The error read "There should be 'The True God_Data' folder next to the executable."

Boberro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52am

As for the gameplay, I think it was too "abstract". Go right, click, go left, click, repeat. Believe it does something. Hey! Maybe it was supposed to be some kind of commentary? :)

Regardless, it's complete, has a working goal, means to lose and nice graphics.
Music was terrible and too loud :D

MacDocBros says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:16pm

The windows link works now I think (I don't have windows lol).

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:42pm

The game was pretty buggy in my experience. I once randomly died despite having plenty of food and faith, and at one point, my character just kinda flopped over and was unable to move. Also, you can repeatedly jump into the sky, so...yeah, that's a bug that probably needs to be fixed.

MacDocBros says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:23pm

Yeah, I know, but I just didn't have time to fix that XD.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:15am

Press space button. A lot. FLY FOREVER.

MacDocBros says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:36am

YEEEEEEEEEE

MacDocBros says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:51pm

We all noticed that one xD

rogberth says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:01pm

I did not get the games concept haha, I had a game over and I don't know what I did wrong :(

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:52am

The art is cute! I like the idea, very simple and good first attempt!
I noticed that there wasn't a limit on the jumping, so that you could effectively fly by repeatedly pressing space, I was also able to tip the character over by doing that and I got stuck :(

MacDocBros says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:10am

Sorry for all the bugs and for the sudden game over...that's a bug to D:

Ludum34 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Not bad for teenagers! Hope your future games will be the hits! Good luck!

MacDocBros says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:06am

Thanks!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:13pm

Ey, it's fun and the game works well. The music is a bit repetitive and the art is too pixelated, but I am sure that you have learnt a lot making this game. Keep improving! Nice entry ;-)

SamH says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:47pm

Thanks for the Linux build. This is a pretty nice entry given your young ages, congratulations for finishing a project by yourselves! So, the good sides: the artwork is not bad at all, you game has music and sound effects, it has a full gameplay loop and even a menu, that’s probably more than quite a few Ludum Dare entries. On the meh side, the music is a bit repetitive, but also the gameplay becomes quickly pretty repetitive, and that’s probably the game’s major issue; I hope you try to work on that next time! I will keep an eye on your LD35 entry.

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:20am

Game-wise a bit repetitive, but you've touched all aspects of game dev that this was hopefully good experience for you two. Keep it up!

blzkz says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 10:24am

infinite jumps can break your game (impossible collisions and turn down the player)

Linear says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:23pm

There's an interesting bug where if you jump on top of an enemy at just the right angle, your character falls over sideways, and then it's reeeally hard to get him back upright.

Anyways, nice game!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 11:04pm

The music was simple, but I enjoyed it. As for the gameplay, I had no idea what was happening. Dogs were coming from the right, guys with spears from the left? Very interesting!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]