Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Charlamagne's Sound Train

by craigoryham - Jam Entry

*NOTE*KNOWN BUGS AND STATUS AT THE BOTTOM*NOTE*


Collect musical buddies, sacrifice them to protect the engine cart, and be a train.


==========================
CONTROLS: Z and X
==========================
Scoop Rocks and small logs into your compactor cart using 'X' to build passenger carts.

Hold 'Z' + 'X' to slow down and pick up a passenger (each one makes there own sound and there are 5 in total, collect them all!)

Charge 'Z' to fling a passenger or a cart at an enemy or a big boulder or log.

========================================

*Please if the game crashes drop the error message and a description of what caused the error so I can squash it and update the game file! I can't fix them without a little help if I can't duplicate the error! Thanks!*
FIRST LUDUM DARE! I learned so much and redid so much work, but wow, this is fun, and this is my first game/demo/tutorial by myself, so please enjoy it
and give me honest feedback.


KNOWN BUGS
*buds colliding with a big boulder/log would cause audio to crash [FIXED]
*when colliding with big boulder/log with more than one cart game crashes [FIXED]
*player begins in the debug room with nothing to do but die by a big boulder/log[FIXED]

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#225Theme(Jam)4.00
#310Mood(Jam)3.47
#356Audio(Jam)3.31
#394Graphics(Jam)3.67
#479Fun(Jam)3.20
#521Innovation(Jam)3.13
#788Overall(Jam)3.00
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

craigoryham says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:04am

Wooh, first game LD!

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Neat game, although confusing, but after a minute, it crashed with this error (held Z+X after intro)


___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object oPlayer:

Unable to find any instance for object index '100664' name '<undefined>'
at gml_Object_oPlayer_Step_0
############################################################################################

flakoflak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:28pm

haha didnt get it
was playing till...
___________________________________________
############################################################################################
FATAL ERROR in
action number 1
of Step Event0
for object oPlayer:

Unable to find any instance for object index '100595' name '<undefined>'
at gml_Object_oPlayer_Step_0
############################################################################################

Congrats on your first game.

Blake_Lead says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Lovely game. I did not quite catch the gameplay, but i found the aesthetic great.

craigoryham says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:35pm

weird. To either of you, any specific things you were nearby? I can't replicate that error!

Bailman03 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:39pm

interesting game so sad there an error that crashes it.

craigoryham says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Bailman03, what error did you get and what were you doing when you got the error?

craigoryham says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:43am

fixed a few bugs, keeping a long up top. Thanks to everyone playing and posting bug reports/critiques :)

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:25am

Nice little game. And congrats on your first LD entry! It's a great feeling, isn't it? :)

I like the audio and the art style a bit. Game was a tad confusing at first, but still enjoyable. Also, as a head's up: when using Game Maker, you can just send your project file for source code instead of putting all your code into a text file. Saves you some time!

redmassacre says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:46pm

hi, GM bro)
nice game, i think it has some idea
i am not sure about controls - when i began tapping on the keyboard, train was able to get the things and build the carts) it could be tuned i suppose, or make breaks more comfortable to use)
i like it- it has some pleasant aftertaste )

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:32pm

funny game)

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:36am

I downloaded the game but my computer said that your game wanted to make changes to my computer (which needed to be authorized by an admin). I don't play games which require admin permissions for security reasons, is there a way for me to play the game without needing admin permissions?

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:44am

I enjoyed the hand drawn aesthetic, but wasn't really sure what I was supposed to be doing. I picked up a whale though that was cool and I shot my flatbeds forward. Then it ended.

Tselmek says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:51pm

Very enjoyable graphics and nice audio. The gameplay was very confusing on the other hand. You might want to export your project as a singletime executable or a zip file, having to go through the GameMaker installer can be annoying to a lot of players.

craigoryham says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 9:32pm

@Tselmek, ah I see that must be what #dcRfj15 was talking about.

Yeah I overshot on the game play, but I got a half decent idea out of it that I'm fleshing out currently, posting on twitter.com/craigoryham for those who want to check it out.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]