Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Donut Dash!

by trexmix - Jam Entry

Enjoy a casual arcade game with a twist! Dodge obstacles, collect sprinkles, and resize yourself as you journey through a tasty but perilous arena.

Has elements of both themes in it.


My first entry into a game jam!

<<Controls>>
Scroll to resize
Move the mouse to move the donut.

Make sure that you are bigger than the sprinkles to eat them!

May have issues with scrolling causing the page, rather than the game to scroll. Internet Explorer (sorry!) worked for me, WaterFox did not work for my friends.

Credits-

Coding/Gameplay/Assets- Elijah Trexler
Assets- Jimmy Howerton
Background Manager- Sebastion Doortango

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#354Humor(Jam)2.92
#579Innovation(Jam)3.04
#701Fun(Jam)2.92
#774Theme(Jam)3.35
#903Mood(Jam)2.54
#910Overall(Jam)2.84
#990Graphics(Jam)2.12

Comments

arvaris says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:08pm

The Web link just took me to the main http://www.kongregate.com/ page. I tried searching for the game, but couldn't find it...so I couldn't play :(

refreshgames says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:10pm

Got the same problem as arvaris over here, if you could update the link it would be appreciated. Even a direct download would be cool.

trexmix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:00pm

I THINK this should work- looks like I forgot to hit publish on Kongregate.

However, I also included a direct download. Thank you all for the feedback!

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:25pm

This game seemed very enjoyable but I couldnt get a very high score. I kept getting gameover because I assume the sprinkles need to be the same size as the doughnut. If this is the reason I found it very hard to tell when the doughnut was the right size.

Anyway this was a really good game and it has made me very hungry. Good work, keep it up!

Luke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:41am

Deliciously fun. Like flappy bird but with donuts :D

Orava says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:27pm

Web 404 still

trexmix says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Hmm... reuploaded once more. If it's still not working, I'll look into another host. Apologies all!

sikosis says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:18am

As stated, web link not working :(

socapex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:40am

Surprisingly addictive, perfect controls!

Drury says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:56pm

This is pretty tough, with steam controller at least.

ragnta says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Nice game. This is the computer version of Flappy Birds. Good idea. It is a little bit fast. :)

trexmix says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:57am

bleh, sorry everyone. New web hosting completely. Not sure why Kongregate is having so much trouble.

illraceyou says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:12am

I'm using a laptop w/ touchpad and can't seem to get the resizing to work, which probably breaks the game, so I won't rate it. But I can say that the cocoa walls sometimes appear really close together, which is very difficult to get through... the sprinkles also just pass right through the donut sometimes, though maybe they don't if your donut is large.

Cute idea though. Who doesn't like looking at donuts and sprinkles? ;)

The Vall says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Simple concept but fun, nice job.

jerry111zhang says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:25am

Fun, but web version can't seem to resize

rkhadder says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:39pm

I like the game, I thought it was an interesting approach. The font was kind of hard to read and the items spawned very quickly, maybe have it start slower and speed up as the player progresses

dlowe says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:15am

Seemed like a sweet idea (GET IT?) but we were unable to play because we don't have a mouse with a scroll wheel :(

Skaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:11pm

Quite enjoyable game, but I expected my donut to have a hole in it! :p

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]