Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Smash Buttons

by ronniepedra - Jam Entry

Two patriot buttons fight with giant robots for glory. This is Ludum Dare 34 entry with the themes: "Two buttons controls and Growing"

The mechanics are pretty simple because we simplify the project to polish the basics(it's our first game at all)

This is the first game made by "DOR Games" which is composed by @Douglas_Feer, @Juunin and @RonniePedra.


Made in Construct 2

Commands:

Player 1

D - Attack

S - Move(press again to swap direction)



Player 2

J - Attack

K - Move(press again to swap direction)


http://dorgames.tumblr.com

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#58Graphics(Jam)4.47
#138Overall(Jam)3.78
#142Humor(Jam)3.55
#147Theme(Jam)4.11
#183Fun(Jam)3.61
#231Mood(Jam)3.59
#301Innovation(Jam)3.43

Comments

diest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:20am

was confused on how to move then I realized I should read the directions! I had fun!

middenkwaaii says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:00am

Innovative controls and fun game!

ErelDev says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36am

Great game ! definitely a game for 2 players !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19pm

A very polished presentation, but with somewhat dull mechanics. I feel like the two minigames that are on display here have mechanics which are overall too simple to be really engaging or challenging in the moment. A little bit of added depth in some form (maybe charge moves for player attacks?, just spitballing...) is really needed to make this more enjoyable. Outside of the mechanics, though, the graphics, audio, and style of the game were brilliantly well handled and extremely charming.

FrederickK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Loved the robots!
Very cool game!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:27am

Very cool game! I really liked playing it

fpwong says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:43am

Graphics and audio are really nice. Would have liked another mechanic in the gameplay since its a bit too simple.

GetDoSed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:25am

LOL, Certainly two buttons!

OberynMartell says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:27am

Wow! Loved the art style, the music and the controls! Solid entry! Congrats!

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:27am

Your art and animation are amazing. Especially the explosion animation, very detailed. One thing I didn't like was being thrown into the second minigame without explanation. I was very confused and didn't know what to the first time. I feel like you should have focused on one game or the other.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:27am

Cool jam game! I figured out that standing in the middle and tapping fire was a path to absolute victory, however!

zzapp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:33am

Fun games overall, the graphics and sound were great.
It used the two button limitation well, but using the same key in alternative directions did get awfully confusing at times though.

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:45am

Awesome artwork! It was a great surprise when I realized that there was a second game after the first one that put a new twist on the concepts of the main game. Nice work!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:20am

Beautiful! The whole things just nails it down aesthetically :) The mechanics are really good too

et1337 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:39am

Love the pixel art. Solid gameplay as well.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:43pm

Interesting use of the two-button controls, although it feels quite awkward to move around, especially when it's a skill-based game and you have to avoid attacks. Overall it looks very good but I think the mechanics need a bit of polish!

bakudas says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:23pm

Pretty fun game! Very polish art!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:46pm

it's a funny game with a good use of two buttons

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:50am

wow, this feels really polished!

art & sound were very good, and the idea of multiple games was ambitious but very cool to see, excellent job!

Anachron says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:02am

Giant robots for the win! :)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:53am

Loved everything about it, but controls were a bit tricky.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]