Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Trimmer Tycoon

by Oski - Jam Entry

You’re the new owner of a beard trimming salon. Satisfy your customers’ beardy dreams and become a millionaire. Or just try to pay your rent.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#48Humor(Jam)3.97
#213Innovation(Jam)3.56
#256Audio(Jam)3.48
#344Overall(Jam)3.50
#367Fun(Jam)3.34
#434Mood(Jam)3.31
#537Graphics(Jam)3.42
#883Theme(Jam)3.13

Comments

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19pm

Haha that was fun. I'm impressed by the coloring and trimming mechanics. The controls were a bit difficult as the clippers didn't seem to cut exactly where I was clicking (maybe they were cutting across to where my mouse was but this made me make lots of mistakes). Good job.

jackycute says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:22pm

What a fun game!!!
Shave and colorize it.

cudabear says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23pm

This is an awesome entry. I found it plays a bit like paper's please, you're encouraged to work fast, but also penalized for making mistakes.

The scale of the game is a bit too low, I found it really easy to completely screw up some guy's beard even with subtle mouse movements, because the shaver takes off like 10% of the beard each time. I also think a pre-set color list might be better than sliders, because that's where I wasted a lot of time.

Audio is awesome and complements the setting well.

Well done!

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:24pm

My shop almost lasted for 3 minutes, stiny rent wouldnt accept that I was about 5 dollars/euros short on the money :p

Different style game mechanic here, kept me interested till the end ;)

BioBazard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25pm

This is a funny concept ! Well done :) !

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:28pm

Great graphics, music and audio. Fun little game, only thing that I would have liked to be improved is little more accuray on the trimmer. Or it's me that is just bad. But overall a great game! :)
Ps. Go Suomi!! ;)

Move127 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:40pm

Great entry. Certainly nerve-wracking when you see the rent timer ticking down.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:56pm

Great concept, and great fun! Kinda seems like the opposite of the theme though. Ah well, I enjoyed.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Funny game, wasn't really my type of game but still was fun.

ohmmus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59pm

Impressive game! I'm not entirely sure what feedback to give. Maybe a % meter of how close you are to what the customer wants? This is a really neat game! Good work!

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19pm

why arent those beards the new fashion sense. those were fabulous.

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36pm

The concept is nice :) Good job!

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:14pm

I never imagined it so difficult to own a beard trimming shop. But seriously: great idea for a game! And it's working quite nicely!

WASDMagician says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Fun game but the accuracy seemed terrible in places, sometimes it would take out areas of beard that weren't touching anything and other times the bit I was trying to trim just wouldn't go away.

StMatn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:26pm

Very fun game :D I like the idea!
Aiming was a bit tricky.
Nice work!

Ildfuglen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Funny little game, didn't seem to have much point to it but it was fun nonetheless!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:36pm

Great entry, very well done. Survived for 6 minutes and then stopped because it seemed nothing new was happening and I was always barely good enough to not lose the game until that point. I really like how you managed to make the game pretty self explaining - no reading required whatsoever, just jump in and play. I wish more Ludum Dare games were like this. :)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:17pm

I love this idea! Felt a bit hard to control where I was cutting, but on the whole it's a really fun game with a charming style.

Pilly says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:32pm

This was great! Innovative mechanic and loved the use of the "growth" theme. This would make a fantastic mobile game, would love to see it there some day!

SirJambon says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Great stuff! Really tough, probably doesn't help that I'm colour blind!

I made a video on my Youtube channel: https://youtu.be/fQdnMTG8gIY

g12345 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 11:36am

I got a 404 when going to the Web link.

Eingya says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:21pm

brilliant concept and good execution, well done!

Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:29pm

Extremely hard to trim beards properly, maybe that was the idea, but I think more precise controls would make the game better.
Still, it was funny while it lasted!

Oski says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 1:57pm

Fixed the link!

alhvi says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 12:20am

Really fun game. I think the controls need more precision but it was really fun and a really original idea. Good job :)

Jan 4, 2016 @ 4:15pm

Challenging, funny game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/eBJmDbHq4GI

Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:34pm

Fun and cute little game with a lot to it. I liked the characters and the sound effects felt right.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:55pm

Funniest game I've played yet. Took me waaay too long to find that you could change to a more precise tool (more my bad playing than your controls). Just resulted in a lot of dudes having messed up mustaches. Excellent job.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 6:58pm

Pretty amusing entry but ridiculously difficult because of the short time limit and hard to master controls (well either that or I'm probably too much of a perfectionist :V)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]