Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Naked Ninja / Ninja Tounu

by ascam - Jam Entry

/*
** Project made as a team by three awesome students:
**
** Ascam : Programmation; Game design
** Ignis : Programmation; Game design
** SirFapsAlot : Graphism; Game design
**
** Hope you'll enjoy it !
*/

Ninja Tounu (which sounds in french like "naked ninja"), is a "runner-type" game in which you play a ninja... Most of the time naked.

As a ninja, he is gifted when it comes to jump between buildings. Unfortunately, he often hits a few obstacles while climbing... But his precious clothes may protect him, if there are enough of them.

In this game, your goal as Tounu is to reach the highest you can. Simple ? We'll see...


INSTALLATION :

Windows -> Coming soon ;)

Linux & Mac OS -> Clone git source repository or get the .tar archive. Once at the root of the 'naked_ninja' game directory, call "sudo make" once. Enjoy how smooth the build is. Then execute the "ninja" binary you've just created and here you are !



If you experience any trouble installing or playing, make sure to leave a comment below !

Love (naked) <3

HECKOUT GAMEPLAY (if you want, of course !) https://www.youtube.com/embed/QfCiX6AvGXw

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#197Humor(Jam)3.33
#503Fun(Jam)3.17
#597Audio(Jam)2.75
#679Mood(Jam)3.00
#764Overall(Jam)3.04
#828Innovation(Jam)2.65
#830Theme(Jam)3.25
#889Graphics(Jam)2.58
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

zegher_a says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:05pm

Oh wow game of the year 2k15, congratz to the designer, he has to be so handsome and smart xddddd m9

MaGnTK says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09pm

This game is really funny. Really good job guys and good luck.

dos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:21pm

Dat Ark icon :P

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:44am

Fun game, nice concept. I could see this becoming a very good time killer with some polish.
I really like how the graphics are updated in realtime to show the ninja getting dressed. Showing the score while playing would be a nice addition.
Also, the procedural generation algorithm could use some work since atm crates are often spawned inside or too close to flower pots, flower pots are spawned upon each other, etc.
The graphics could really use some more love too ;)

fafastudio says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 10:45pm

Too bad i can't play as a windows user :(

Shovix says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:15pm

funny

eskivor says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:26am

not on windows :'(

bog13 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:22am

The game is pretty hard ! Nice game :) (Vive KDE ! \o/)

PS : Linux version is nice (Funny DO_NOT_READ_ME :D )

ascam says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:38pm

Thanks everyone for your feedbacks ! Happy you've enjoyed this little game !

Sorry for the leak of any Windows version but one of the objectives of this project for us was to use a special graphic library developed on Linux with SFML by our school :)

Everything surely needs some more work on it but since it's our first game jam, we're pleased with what we did during three days.

misson20000 says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 9:30pm

I get a segfault on my Arch Linux system (also, making me run your scripts as root isn't cool, especially when they futz around with all my /usr/lib permissions). Core dump: https://www.dropbox.com/s/whl0a618bskgguo/naked_ninja_coredump?dl=0

Wumbo says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:33pm

No Windows! :(

Anti says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:34pm

It was very fun to play. Nice work!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]