Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

JetTeam

by Firellon - Compo Entry

Simple game about ship squad management and enemy behavior types.
- Squad moves to your mouse position
- Left Mouse Click will make every ship in squad shoot (if can)
- Ships fire automatically when they see enemy
- Killing enemies eventually grants you additional ships (don't miss that spheres)
- Enemies passed to the left border will immediately respawn at left side AND decrease your chance to get more ships
- Assemble 10 ships in your squad to win!

If you want to play, it's probably best to click on "Web" link and play at my site. If you want to deploy the source, you will need to launch some simple server in folder with the game unpacked, since it's not standalone application.
Have fun!

Best Regards, Firellon.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness59%
#222Audio3.21
#465Innovation3.18
#501Fun3.13
#511Mood2.92
#559Overall3.14
#569Humor2.17
#664Graphics2.76
#835Theme3.17

Comments

esayitch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:25am

Pretty decent game, graphics could use some polish. I would also increase the size of enemy ships, or decrease the size of the arena. Themes are not really expressed as much as they could have been.

Good concept though, and the sounds are pretty cool :D

Firellon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:51am

I'm glad that you like sounds/concept, that was my main goal, actually =)
About themes expression:
- I interpret "two-button controls" as "two ways to control the game" - and there they are, mouse hover and mouse click =) You may think about it as a "zero-button game", as you can complete it without a single click.
- I interpret "growing" as team expansion and difficulty evolvement. As you gather more ships, you have more power, but also you're more fragile and enemies spawn more frequently.
Thanks for feedback!

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09pm

I enjoyed this quite a bit! Reminds me somehow of Cannon Fodder. :)

YinYin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:11pm

I loved how each squad member had a name :D

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:13pm

imo it'll be much better if the plane movement not stiff/depend on grid
i love the idea of the additional plane for life, the graphic for me quite decent, and the music somehow fit it really well :D

srimech says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:15pm

I like this, it's a novel mechanic. I didn't find myself using the "shoot together" button much, but that doesn't matter. The music is great.

Bacontree says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19pm

I really enjoyed this one. It gives it a very personal touch that everyone has names. Nice music and mood too.

mlepage says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:18am

I like the names too. I found it a bit hard to control, could never really get past 3 ships.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Fun, like manabreak said the individually named units reminded me of cannon fodder, and the gameplay reminded me of Gradius with maxed out Option.
I did feel like bullets shouldn't collide with each other though.

randomhuman says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:48pm

Tough game, especially when the up & down enemies come into it. I didn't get above five ships. I did want to keep playing though!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:28am

I like the innovative idea, but this game is hard to reach an end state. Check out my game if you have time, thanks buddy!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:45am

Space and growing! Very good work!

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:40am

decent work! reminds me some of my childhood game and it is quite hard...
kind of curious how the ai work. they follow rly weird patterns...

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:55pm

I liked the ship stacking, made for quite interesting gameplay when deciding to attack/evade oncoming ships/bullets! Art is pretty, too!

OwT says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Really nice game, I like the music, it's so nice to hear! The gameplay is interesting, because of the three ships to control, I had a lot of fun with it!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]