Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Susception

by WolfkingW - Jam Entry

Hello! Thank your for checking out our game!
Susception is an entry to the Ludum Dare 34 Game Jam by WolfkingW and Teledoor24! This was our first Ludum Dare Jam ever, and we're really happy with what we were able to create.

In Susception, your goal is to grow your colony of cells by picking up pellets and feeding it to them, while simultaneously fending off virus infections.

Move over pellets to pick them up (you can hold up to three at a time), and right click to fire them. Firing pellets at a cell will allow it to grow larger while firing pellets at infected cells will heal them. (You can also fire pellets at viruses to knock them away from your cells.)

Controls for Standalone:
Left Mouse: Move towards mouse
Right Mouse: Fire pellets in current direction
(Note: The Right Mouse button has been replaced with the Space Bar in the browser version.)
(Escape: Reset game, hold to exit)

Art by WolfkingW
Programming by Teledoor24

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#167Theme(Jam)4.08
#211Graphics(Jam)4.00
#349Innovation(Jam)3.36
#435Overall(Jam)3.40
#627Mood(Jam)3.08
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#1817Coolness37%

Comments

teledoor24 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:08am

Woooo!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:28am

Really good graphics and controls! Fun game!

comatomatoes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:38am

Definitely fun at the beginning but it seems to get unmanageable pretty quick. Had some issues with right clicking in the browser -- it kept bringing up a context menu. Very nice aesthetic. Good work!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:23am

I got to the point where I had two cells, but sadly food became very hard to find. Also some sort of arrow(s) pointing towards your cells would help. The map seems infinite and it would be easy to get lost, since food was so rare. :P

Also, sometimes the pellets didn't seem to vanish when you picked them up, though they could still be shot. Cute faces on the cells!

Thembi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:47pm

My poor cells... =(

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Fun gameplay, but I specially loved the graphics! Those cells are so cute! Well done :D

blurryroots says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:50am

Controls felt very slick. I liked feeding my cells. Shame they all got infected. I think some downbeat background music would have really complemented the game but great work nonetheless ;)

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:17pm

Fun! A upgraded spore and the controls feels smooth.

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Nice job!

jackrugile says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 3:17am

I loved the look of this game and the way the characters move. They are very cute too ;)

Like other's have said though, since there was no map or indication of where my cells were, I kept on losing them. The world was very big and took a while to hit the edge.

Also, the camera following seemed smooth, except for when you are making tight turns. When I do that, it starts to stutter and shake a little bit, like it's locked onto the character too tight.

randomhuman says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:56am

Pretty cool idea, and the graphics are great.

Unfortunately there are a few bugs and aspects of the gameplay that make it frustrating. After playing a while the pellets no longer entered my body, though I was able to fire them still. I couldn't travel too far from the cells without getting lost. And I would suggest making it possible to destroy the viruses rather than just knocking them away, otherwise I think being overrun quickly is inevitable.

With a few changes I would like to play more of this.

Waynetron says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:43pm

The visuals have loads of personality. The texture on the background is a subtle way to show movement. I felt like I needed to see farther.

Jan 11, 2016 @ 12:13am

Very cute graphics, neat game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/EnuG74cyOfk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]