Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Bulb

by Radnap - Compo Entry

Protect the bulb from elements waves.
Use Left-Right arrow to repel them.
---
There is only two levels and it miss a "you win" screen.
---
Just a tiny game, not really fun in the end but it's playable and at least it's something !

I started thinking about Warioware Inc., the GBA game, but my lack of graphist abilities made me lost a lot of time. I should have pick a simpler design.
Finding a gameplay idea was quite hard and i'm not really satisfied with what i made. On the other hand, the compo was a good experience and i'm sure i'll do something better next time !
---
Edit: I'm aware there is a problem on Mac and i'm looking into it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2210Coolness20%

Comments

SirSoltex says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21am

can't run it on mac :/ the zip only contains the contents of what seems to be an uncompiled .app file

Simplest says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Have the same error, could not try it on mac could you update it and whisper me? thanks :-)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:11pm

It ran fine for me on Windows. But I seem to always lose at the second screen. Nice flower animation.

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:33pm

When you get two arrows of the same side, it'd be nice if it flashed to show you it registered your input. The flower animation was very nice. Goes on GameOver at the end of the second level, give me a You Win! instead! :P

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:59pm

Hi , this game was a nice idea, i couldnt seem to last long as the buttons never kept them away but maybe im just not good at the game :(

Well Done On the Game!

Radnap says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Hey thanks for the comments, i didn't saw them !
Their should be an animation on the arrow when you press it but i'll look into that. I forgot indeed the win screen and there is only two level as i kind of struggle with the flower animation to go any further that way.
For now i doesn't have a Mac but i'll look into it as soon as possible.

anv says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:49pm

Can see GBA inspiration, graphics look pretty OK. Gameplay reminds me a bit of the biggest scourge of contemporary game design - quick time events, but hey, not bad!

carlsommer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:22am

I like the bulb sprouting animation

Mirch says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 1:39am

Nice concept, but for some reason it doesn't seem to work all the time? Pressing the arrows didn't do much for me.

Ace says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Can not run it on Linux, firstly the TheBulb ELF lacks execution permissions, after setting +x it also throws a Java exception;
Error: failed to load/find main class fr.langladure.ld34.desktop.DesktopLauncher

tazdij says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 9:05pm

WinRAR is saying the zip file is corrupt.

paruthidotexe says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 8:55pm

nice concept.. can little be changed to make game play addictive.. art work like cloud, plant are looks very beautiful.. especially the growth animation of plant..

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]