Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Two Button Ripple

by qwetro - Compo Entry

The basic idea originally comes from Chain Reaction. Use the two buttons of mouse to trigger ripples with different color to fill those pre-colored grids. The ripple will grow in 4 directions with 4 forks, the fork will keep growing until it meet something.The numbers of ripples are limited.

The mechanic maybe confusing at first, you could replay the easy levels to figure out by pressing R key :), there's only got 6 short levels, that won't cost you much time anyway, lol.

Sorry for lacking of high difficulty levels, got no time for that. I'll keep working on it, but no gonna update the game here, it's against the rule :)

* I'll develop a post-compo version when I have time. I'm currently working on another project, so the post-compo version might not be available in anytime soon. Here's the DevLog I started for my current project, if anyone's interesting :)
https://forums.tigsource.com/index.php?topic=51804.msg1204098#msg1204098

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness84%
#92Innovation3.88
#267Fun3.45
#439Overall3.29
#644Humor1.96
#656Theme3.52
#711Graphics2.63
#740Mood2.55

Comments

BoltKey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:16am

The concept is quite interesting, what a shame it's so short. I think way more complex and interesting levels could be thought of.

Chaserbrown says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:25am

It was a bit confusing learning how to play, but once I did it was fun! Audio may have improved the game though...

IanGraven says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:30am

The mechanic is cool, it just took me a little bit to figure out how it works exactly.

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:54am

an interesting puzzle game. it was nice to deconstruct how exactly these cells.

Bogden says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:16am

Oh man, this has so much potential! I'm like super sad there's not more levels!

Gyfis says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:35am

Very interesting puzzle mechanic, enjoyed every level! Would play more!

5you says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:33am

Couldn't pass level 4, I always end up with 2 uncoloured/wrongly coloured squares. Am I stupid ?
Nice concept anyways, maybe don't interpolate pixels.

Check out Digicross, playable in solo/multi/coop :
http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=46758

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:09pm

Would love to see this grow into something more. This could be great on mobile, for example. Anyway, even though the levels weren't difficult, it was still fun and enjoyable watching the ripples take effect.

Good stuff!

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:36pm

The game mechanic is interesting. The graphics could have been better and you could have made more levels. Nonetheless this game was quite fun to play

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Minimalist. This is an interesting logic game which could be a reference as a casual game. However sometimes there is a chain reaction which I can explain. The mechanics could be more explicit. A tutorial is required so as to understand all. However it's a really good entry. Great ++

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:36am

Level four stumped me, unfortunately, but the concept is intriguing. I liked the minimalist aesthetic, but even some simple 8-bit style sound effects would have gone a long way.

Quick question: is there a 'quit' button in the game? I had to alt-tab and close it that way when I was done. That's not a game-breaker but it is something to keep in mind for future games, especially full screen ones.

qwetro says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:41am

@AAGH Games
I didn't set any quit button, sorry for that, you could always exit the game by Alt+F4 in windows. I'll remember this, thank you!

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23pm

Fun little game, would enjoy more levels! You can add a "post-compo" version link here, I would have played that (after rating the original version, of course).

CalmKai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:53am

Fun!!!!!!!

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:30am

Very, very well designed puzzle game. You did an exceptional job of walking the player through learning the mechanics. All levels were perfectly crafted so that the player was forced to slowly learn new concepts and ideas. As a whole the game was very nice (cept for the missing audio D:) and visually appealing. 5/5 fun for incredible level design.

flakoflak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:41am

this is a very good game
:)

keep working on more levels

jofra says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:34am

Love the gameplay! I just wish it was a bit longer :)

coywolf says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:51am

Cool mechanic. On the last couple levels I felt I resorted to a bit more of a guess and check strategy

TheMeorch says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:23am

Interesting mechanic -- as you work on this further, I would try to find ways to lead the player to naturally discover how everything works, rather than relying on them retrying old levels.

Aerohand says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:24am

i hope there could be more levels dude..

qwetro says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:17am

@TheMeorch
That's exactly what I was trying to do, but lacked of time. I will keep on that direction. Thanks!

pianoman373 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:42am

Can you change the download file to a zip? windows only supports .zip and you'll allow more access to people who don't have 7-zip.

euske says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 7:06am

I liked the game mechanics.

astrophics says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Cool concept, but sorta lacking in level design a bit

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]