Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The Ghost Engorger

by Rys0n - Compo Entry

You're a thing-dude who likes to eat ghost-dudes, and you GROW bigger as you eat more ghosts. You can only eat ghosts that are smaller than yourself, however, and bigger ghosts will kill you!

Become big enough to eat the gate-keeper dude at the top of the level, and you can start the game over with a brand-spankling new SCORE POINT! The game gets harder as you go, so see how many points you can get.

But don't become so big that you get stuck in the level. A ghost could totally come over and kill you, and you wouldn't be able to move. That would suck.


2-Button-Controls:

Turn Left = Left Arrow / A

Turn Right = Right Arrow / B

Turn Around = Left+Right Arrow / A+B

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#233Theme4.00
#441Fun3.21
#451Innovation3.20
#591Overall3.11

Comments

Dmitrix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26am

Nice! At first I just thought it was a Pac Man clone but I actually really like the idea behind the game mechanic.

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:16pm

Nice touch to have the red and green around the enemies. And cool you can get stuck before reaching the exit haha :).
Wish I could hold down the cursor keys and not have to press them only when changing directions.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:53am

Nice little game, simple but it kept me playing a while :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:42am

Nice game! The concept is good, and the realisation is well done. At first, it's a bit strange to have the whole level turning around the player, but now that I think about it, it must be easier to control like this (turning left/right is from the player point of view). Oh! And it totally fits the theme! The only missing thing to me is a bit of audio/music.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:25pm

I really like the mechanics here, very well done.

Auroz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:34pm

Interesting mechanic.

Yvanor says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:38pm

Aha, nice little fun game ^^ The gameplay is simple but quite clever, well done ! ^^

Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:28am

nice little game. colors, graphics, and mechanic. Needs level saves.

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:40am

Good game. It was very fun for me. I think it's too hard(when green triangles appears) and you need tutorial.

Benjamin says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 8:41am

Your core idea is really good. I love the guardian ending idea and the fact that you can be stuck change all the green monsters to a potential danger. It's also funny to cross some small monsters without hiting them because they're not on same line, not very usual on pacman games.

scorched says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:30pm

That was fun! Pacman meets Osmos

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]