Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Falling Aliens

by Tutti Ankka - Compo Entry

Fly in space and dodge aliens. This was my first Ludum Dare and I had fun!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#365Audio2.88
#514Theme3.69
#662Humor1.87
#736Fun2.77
#756Mood2.52
#787Overall2.85
#802Graphics2.42
#900Innovation2.19

Comments

AranHase says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:38pm

Nice soundtrack. And loved how short it was (it is a good thing). Was very fun!

Taffaz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:40pm

Cool game although I wasn't very good at it. Got to the first boss.

Jimbly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:54pm

Fun little game, good job on your first entry! I was unable to beat the (first?) boss, but got a high score of 7000.

antonuklein says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:24pm

It's not bad for a 48 hour game, and thankfully you coded in the ability of using A and D instead of just the mouse, which makes this so much more playable.

manabreak says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Welcome to Ludum Dare, congrats on your first entry! Nice job overall, nothing too exciting, but a great start. :)

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56pm

Simple and classic

FloatingGhost says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57pm

If you get far do the aliens start to become so big they eclipse the screen? I like to think they do

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06pm

Cool game - I like the tension between getting points and avoiding stuff. The destruction animation is funny. The collision detection seemed a little weird, like it was using a box though the aliens have a polygonal shape. Also I think the game could have been more interesting if not restricted to left / right controls, even though that was the theme.

cimbaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:17pm

I liked that you need to choose point or life. :D
Music is awesome.

DarkGrisen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:22pm

Fun game! The boss was to hard for me :P

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:30pm

Cool game. Music and Sounds were really good. Graphics were astonishing. The idea was generally pretty good.

wavegunner232 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:38pm

this game knows your expectations you think it will just be space invaders with a better soundtrack. Its not this game i really fun and quite innovative

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:08am

Feels pretty satisfying to play, and I like the sounds. The boss battle is pretty neat too. Nice job!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:32am

i believe the game could be improved by creating patterns of aliens instead of just using random placement - nice effort

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:35am

Fun little game! The stages of enemies were pretty neat, and the boss was a nice surprise! I would have preferred arrow key controls though. Good first attempt!

Gordy says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:08pm

Easy and funny game ;) Play it guys ! ;) :D

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:06pm

Really challenging little game. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/-PrUibNueHg

Skaz says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:17pm

The mouse controls are really weird, but with keyboard the games is quite enjoyable.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]