Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Klangwelt

by GoodwolfStudio - Jam Entry

Watch and hear your world grow.

​Klangwelt is a musical world-building game. Each object you place creates a sound - you can choose which note it plays. This way you create harmonies in a 3D-environment and move through it.
But be careful - if you place a wrong note other fields may loose their harmonies.


The game has two modes:

- Sandbox mode: Play around and build your own worlds without restrictions
- Online mode: Players are building a world together, but everyone can only place one object.

Controls:
Move (Arrows/WASD)
Cycle through playable keys (M/N)
Rotate View/placable object (Q/E)
Open Menu/Volume Control (ESC)


All sounds were created with a software synthesizer.


This game was created by Zein Okko and Kevin Glaap - two game design students from the Cologne Game Lab. We are currently opening our first indie game company "Goodwolf Studio".

Follow us on twitter @GoodwolfStudio




UPDATE: Here's what we are currently working on for a Post-LD-Release:

- Rewrite the controls completely - instead of keyboard input, we'll use mouse and touch input
- Add more objects
- Add chord-playing-objects
- Add some mechanic for unlocking objects (progress)
- Add settings for the sandbox mode (e.g. seasons on/off, auto-generate objects on start etc.)
- Improve the calculation that locks certain notes from being played to restrict disharmonies
- Add more ways of learning how harmonies work during play (e.g. scale-visualizations, map-overlays, tutorials, maybe some learning-mode that slowly teaches you harmonies)
- Make a mobile version for tablets - pay-to-play, no in-app-payments

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness86%
#14Innovation(Jam)4.22
#51Audio(Jam)4.07
#141Mood(Jam)3.77
#156Overall(Jam)3.75
#231Graphics(Jam)3.96
#629Fun(Jam)3.02
#777Theme(Jam)3.34

Comments

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:44pm

Wow, that was surprising. I think the idea is really interesting but it lacks fun factor. Could be better for example if the tiles were placed by a character controlled by player. I like the samples you used and online mode. It has potential imho.

mat1er says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Awesome! A little hard to use, but awesome!
Maybe adding a "delete" key?

SelfTitled says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:58pm

Love the idea of the online world building

Yamzho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:18pm

That's a unique experience ! I hope the concept will be developed because I want to see more of this ! Well done !

klianc09 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:47pm

Really weird concept (in a good way) and the Online World is a nice experiment.
It was too hard to control. Discouraged me from exploring more combinations and building a bigger world.

ashdnazg says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:00pm

This is incredible!
As a musically oriented person this was fun to experiment with and the fact that the graphics were eye-pleasing as well is truly impressive.

A thing I might add is some encouraging of less musically inclined users to use the "right" notes in the "right" places.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:29pm

Feels really unique and has a very polished feel! It should've had mouse controls or something like that though, keyboard controls feel really weird for something like this. Furthermore amazing idea!

sorle says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Man this is awesome!
I've had a lot of fun playing around, after i figured out the controlls.
How incredeble is the idea of creating a (sound)world with other people!

vinipereira says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:30pm

I dont understand the connection with the themes at all, but it is a pretty good game.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:32pm

I absolutely LOVED your game man !

I know there not enough fun and all, but in my opinion, you nailed it.

Your interpretation of the theme is quite unique, and very inspirationnal.

And i could spend hour to play your game, which is made in less than 72 hours ...

Well done !

tweedle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:26am

Cool idea and nice graphics, the keyboard controls seemed a bit odd. Great music and mood, nice work overall!

xaedes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:45am

Yea! I really like the idea to place music sources into the world. Always thought about something similar to this w.r.t. music generation. The music quality is very high. The execution of the concept looks solid. But I wasn't quite sure what to do in the game. I need a guide to, well guide me what to do next.
When I read you writing about harmonies, I thought that I would get some kind of feedback from the game if I hit any or if I loose any. Didn't see this in the game though.

I can also totally see making a haunted house with this framework. You would need to add some scary objects with proper sounds that can be triggered to get activated by stepping on some tile. If you give theses objects some crowd control (like fear), the players goal could be to get through the haunted house as fast as possible or so.

See a lot of potential here, don't let it be wasted please and continue working on it^^

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:46am

Nice little game, made some sick beats! Keep up the good work!

banana4life says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:46am

Ich finde die Idee super, aber die Controls hätten besser gewählt sein können :)
Und ich hätte mir noch mehr verschiedene Objekte gewünscht und verschiedenere Klangtöne. Und eventuell irgendwie ein Ziel oder eine kleine Aufgabe.

gv1351 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:03am

I didn't really understand what was going on I just placed stuff randomly but it looks good

andyman404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:49pm

Beautiful and relaxing experience! Well done.

Esjaji says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:42pm

Very interesting concept, and very, very pretty to look at. It's a little unintuitive to control though, and it's sort of tricky to get your bearings (and I'm not quite sure how it relates to the theme!) but I really, really like the idea, and the implementation is mostly superb. The online mode is an especially awesome feature and serves to create a very interesting experience indeed! Well done!

zebi24 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:10pm

This is so beyond amazing! Really relaxing, it just pulls you in, I could play it all day.

Dege says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:45pm

Art & music are stunning, interesting concept. I liked the idea of different sound mixing together, and also the fact that you listen to always different stuffs mixed differently by moving around. Too bad only a few people have placed an object into the world, or at least it looks so. I wanted to place a tree, but I didn't understand why it is without leaves... Seasons? Anyway... Not sure about the theme, I'm I missing something?

Drunkain says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:23am

BEST GAME EVER. TRULY <3

randomhuman says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 4:20pm

I can't believe you made an online mode, that's awesome. It looks a bit discordant now though! The game is great, you can build a really nice ambient soundscape with it.

FiSilva says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 12:27pm

I love this concept, very zen.
Also the online mode idea is great.
Nice art style too, but a bit too dark.

guoboism says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 2:54am

Great idea! Combine music creation with world building

Jwatt says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 7:34pm

I know it's hard to make anything that revolves around music and still feels like a game (without it being a rhythm game). It's equally hard to rate, cause I was pretty impressed, but it's hard to defend quantifiably as a game.

This is an interesting experiment in its own right, and the interface has lots of neat tweens going on. Of course having any sort of online play is a technical achievement. The way it's one object per player makes this a social experiment kinda thing.

rojo says ...
Jan 1, 2016 @ 11:46pm

Really cool concept! I didn't play online, but in sandbox mode I definitely enjoyed messing and creating my own little harmonious scene. I think my biggest piece of advice would be to rework the controls into something a bit more user friendly.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:14pm

this was interesting and also very relaxing! nice entry!

Mar 28, 2016 @ 3:06am

Super neat idea! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/MR4ln4T3mFk

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]