Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ogre Smash

by muffty - Jam Entry

You play one head of an two headed ogre.
Unfortunately the other head has control of the body and is stupid like hell.

Can you teach him such that you don't die?

Be warned: The stupid ogre tries to learn. Maybe he starts to act on his own will ...

There is a newer version with pause (Space) and key control (left/right)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#241Humor(Jam)3.20
#667Innovation(Jam)2.92
#681Audio(Jam)2.33
#961Mood(Jam)2.34
#1003Fun(Jam)2.38
#1007Graphics(Jam)1.97
#1032Theme(Jam)2.57
#1037Overall(Jam)2.59

Comments

Kakureta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:23am

Pray to the Ogre Lord 11/10

jofra says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36am

Ogre is love, ogre is life!

benjammin1391 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36am

HurDur had a real hard time with snakes. Good game!

Krafty says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:52am

Good concept, but I had a difficult time understanding how my choices affected the game.

rzuf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:05am

A truly magical journey. Amazing story about brotherly love!

teamross says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:08am

Smorc Smorc ! x)
It took time to understand it.
Overall, cool game and concept.

Warboys says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:35pm

Haha I have no idea what's happening but it seems really interesting. I played it like a memory game, trying to remember what I said before and repeat it properly. Not sure why hitting a tree hurt me :P

So yeah, a little explanation as to what's happening would be cool... for some reason I'm assuming it's some awesome AI training program but maybe it's all in my human head :D

Piscythe says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:55pm

Huh? This is a cool idea, but the graphics were completely messed up for me. The ogre would walk straight past things, then interact with empty air. When I said to ignore something, it the ogre would go back, then start walking in the other direction. The consequences of my actions weren't exactly clearly illustrated either - well, except for my death, which was exactly the outcome I expected from trying to Smash a dragon. It's a cool idea with nice atmosphere, and a fully developed version of this would be really cool, but as it is, it's not a cohesive experience.

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:58pm

Why you say that?
Because human, smash and grab!
Maybe I should have smashed and grabed the father also ;)

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:10pm

The graphics were not my cup of tea and I dunno if I know whats going on but my 3 year old son only wants to play this game now rather than hours of super mario maker so thank you for that. (not sarcasm)

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:32am

nice concept and music..
i think the animation is playing but in that location nothing there.. like ogre taking the mushroom from air..

WizzardMaker says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 5:32pm

The game is meh, its a great idea, but its not clear how the choices affect the game

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Very weird. I like it! Sound effects would give the game more depth.

Jerre says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Same as wizzardmaker says, but nice humor too

Yvanor says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:05pm

Smart little game, it's pleasant to see how the other head learn by our tips. Well done ! ^^

JustASHadow says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:17pm

Pros:
-interesting approach to a story driven game, reminds me of Telltale games
Cons:
-seems very minimalist for a jam entry
-there's a typo in the introduction
-some of the events have 3 lines and you get like 5 seconds to read them and make a decision

Overall, it seems like you just ran out of time and you had 72 hours. Maybe it's your first time participating, in which case you did pretty well. Good luck on the next LD! :D

HUMANICS says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:47pm

Nice little game ;) Good job!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Looks like the ogre runs waayyyyy past the objective. Not really sure what's going on for most of it, but it's certainly a good effort overall.

Gaspard_ says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:48pm

The idea is interesting, but it's really annoying to restart the game and redo a series of events every time you want to do something different. The humor was great.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:23pm

Very neat, but I had no idea what was going on!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]