Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Lights

by gironC - Compo Entry

This is my first ludum dare game :)
tools
Engine -> Blender
Graphics -> Paint.NET
Music -> FL Studio

You can not stop running.
Press "A" to change direction.
Press "L" to jump.
The red lights indicate a danger zone, do not spend twice there.
The blue lights indicate a safe area, you can go whenever you want.
If you finish the game you are the master, good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness76%
#60Audio3.84
#91Graphics4.07
#124Mood3.60
#184Theme4.07
#263Overall3.52
#458Fun3.18
#648Innovation2.86

Comments

Mithreindeir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:16am

Amazing!

HolyBlackCat says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:28am

Pretty good overall and nice graphics.
It only lacks some polish and it is too hard for me.
By the way, I like the camera effect when you pass though the door.

elizeu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33am

this game, you play hours without see the time pass!

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

Very nice keep adding on after LD could be nice to publish.

Kortuga says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:40am

This game looks great, and the music track is pretty awesome - Could probably use some more polish, but hey, it's Ludum Dare! Great work.

yumaikas says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48am

Good sound and graphics. The game spikes really highly in difficulty though, so it's hard to see much of it.

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:14am

I was blown away with the art style, very nice indeed. Also, the music really added to the mood. I liked the idea of the two button controls, but the fast pace plays a bit against it. All in all, a solid entry that's very good to play. Congratulations!

eerongal says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:16am

Excellent graphics and music!

Baecun says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:17am

The music is amazing. The game itself is quite hard, since there is very few visibility, but as it has been said before, I also think with some work this could actually be a published game. Nice job.

ranmaru90 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:18am

Ughh I need checkpoints!

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:19am

Nice graphics and really challenging!

Evannex says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:08am

Super challenging, but a lot of fun! Great job!

Magicolo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10am

Sometimes I die, but for why?!!
Sometimes I live, and that makes me happy.
Good job on the graphics :D

Crowno says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:15am

I liked the idea of a runner where you change directions by tapping the button, but the difficulty for me is too high and not in a very good way. What I got is that the symbols were supposed to tell you if the path is safe or dangerous, but in practice it's hard to see the environmental hazards before it's too late, like when you have to take a fall.
I'm still not sure if that was supposed to happen, but even when I followed blue symbols ended falling into pits. I also couldn't figure out what to do after the second door, since I always die almost instantly.
Another issue I had is that when you have to walk to the left, the path is even less visible because the screen doesn't adjust to show more of the direction you are facing (it's always positioned to show more of the right side).
Now for some positive comments: I really enjoyed the music, made me want to keep trying the game even when dying multiple times (the quick respawn also helps with that). The transitions for when you enter a door are also very cool to look at. Graphics are quite simple but they do the job.
Anyway, congrats for being able to finish it, with more polish I think it could turn out to be very interesting.

Fanttum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:55am

Wow this looks pretty. Please make a web or mac port so I can play, haha.

trueboolean says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16am

Music is great! What did you use to make it?

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:26am

Really nice pixel art, and the music is nice as well!
Lovely~ :)

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:35am

This is a really interesting concept! The graphics and music are great, just too difficult for me :p

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:58am

Very good looking game, and hard as hell!

ruscoe says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:13am

Really well done, challenging game.

qwetro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:00am

Amazing graphics, how can you even finish it in 48 hours!

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:56am

Very nice game. Difficult though :)

rujo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:21pm

i like very much the art style and the chiptune theme
the controls are quite ok but the game is too difficult for me

jim3wg says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:57pm

Real time killer !!

vicious_br says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:04pm

The music was the great mood to stay playing. I can not see clearly the obstacles.

Dyn says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:49pm

Very funny

cimbaman says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:27pm

This game needs more polish.
Problem 1: Sometimes after a jump you just pass through the ground.
Problem 2: Falling off the world is a big problem.
Problem 3: Spikes are almost invisible, I was sure the game was just restarting randomly.

Now that that is out of my system.
I loved the door effect, graphics are great, except for the spikes.
Music goes great with this game, it makes you feel the sense of urgency. Thought about making these same controls for my game, but I thought it would make it too hard. After playing this game I know I would have been. :)

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:39pm

Ohhh, the game had so much potential..

The deaths are way too cheap (falling from the scenario)

You should focus the character on the center.

I still don't get the safe and danger signs..

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:18pm

Nice Game!

Optimus6128 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:27pm

The best thing of this game is it's music.
The graphics are quite nice too.

And while I like the concept, I sometimes have a hard time understanding why I lost, maybe I jumped on a wall or hit a wall. Sometimes I enter in doors and there is no reaction time or I don't know I had to switch direction in the edge of a level. Also, maybe sometimes the character is very close to the near end of the screen instead of far away from what's coming to you.

ManuSaiz says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Nice music! keeps me on the mood to keep playing. Also nice graphics.
Some Checkpoints would help, but really nice entry,even more considering it is your first one. Really good job!

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:16pm

Awesome art style and music. You can definitely get into a kind of flow state if you get a good run going, really neat game.

pjimmy says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:26am

This game is amazing, bravo! the only problem is the difficulty, it's hard from the beginning, other than that, the concept is creative, the music and graphics are awesome, just needs a little gameplay adjustments. well done :)

ramoncb says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:12am

Quite hard, I think some improvement could make the game more fun in the future:

- No fall of the map, seriously! You are punishing the player in the wrong way, he want to explore!
- Those spines and enemies can blend with the assets of the level, that's not good. Try to differentiate the danger using contrast (color, shape, etc), this is very important
- Maybe the character move too fast and jumps too little
- This kind of game need a checkpoint system, like Super Meat Boy. Those kind of system is what make the game addicting, people lose the fear of dying and start trying to figure out what to do to traverse that obstacle, they start to look at that as a puzzle

Anyway, very impressive work! 2D games in BGE is not easy to make!

Good job and sorry my bad english! ^^'

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:04am

nice graphics and audio - it was a little hard to play but it was still a lot of fun

scorched says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 5:14pm

Nice work! Direction change gives some time to think over the situation. But I'm a bit confused. I thought pink plant were spikes at first, and red signs have not very obvious collision

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]