Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ghoul

by parias001 - Jam Entry

This game is about a little boy trying to survive in a distorted world, where no natural logic exists. You can only survive if you activate most of the nexus's fireplaces before The Unmaker Ghoul finds you. You must hurry in order to have a chance to fight him, it will grow as he feeds himself with your enemies.

The level is randomly generated and the goal is to kill the ghoul (huehuehue) who is lurking around, you can know it is near by hearing his lullaby.

NOTE: For a better game experience use headphones!

Controls:

*Arrows - Move
*Space Bar - Confirm / Attack
*Escape - Exit

Gamepad supported:

*Left Analog Stick - Move
*(A) button - Confirm / Attack

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#53Mood(Jam)4.10
#284Audio(Jam)3.43
#486Graphics(Jam)3.52
#568Fun(Jam)3.10
#668Overall(Jam)3.16
#814Innovation(Jam)2.67
#1029Theme(Jam)2.59

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:49am

Really great atmosphere in this one. Little bit rough around the edges--too difficult and the goal's a bit unclear IMHO--but I really enjoyed the haunting ambiance. Good work!

dementor561 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:52am

Unplayable. When I hit enter it crashes.

The Vall says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:53am

This game has a really well set mood. I felt that moving backwards after attacking was annoying.

Mr_Fudd says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:59am

I liked the mood your game had. The tileset and music came together to make something eerie. The attack animation was a little jarring since it shook the screen and moved your character back.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:52am

I like this games style!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:57am

Good work keep improving.

Ogniok says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:58am

And this is a game I like to play on ld contest. The mood is great, yet I feel sorry for the boy. He died many times...

Juin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:08pm

You really got he atmosphere right, it really felt spooky. But the combat was really weird and i didn't even really know why i was dead suddenly.

gogo199432 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:37pm

While the idea was great I quickly got lost and wandered around, not knowing what to really look for etc. Then I just died. The mood was great, but implement a map or something.

matiz982 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:14am

Great graphics and mood. Good work

nicso says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:12pm

Pretty hard to distinguish walls from ground. More contrast on their value would do the trick.

A good habit is to take a screen and transform it in black and white ;)

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:14pm

The tense feeling is really great in this game. I enjoy it a lot!

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:29pm

Creepy! Good atmosphere, I think it would have been nicer to play if the light rotated slowly and the camera wasn't so jumpy, apart from that I got really immersed, good job!

Good sounds, but I noticed that you didn't implement a way to queue and limit the amount of sounds played at once - you could hit a pile of dead blob-things and it would play 10 hit sounds all at once, resulting in a really really loud and stuttery sound that hurts the ears.

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Loved the environment and the mood, great graphics (especially that title screen I love it), great music, and cool game overall! c:

parias001 says ...
Jan 5, 2016 @ 6:51pm

The team appreciate all your comments and we'll take note of all of your observations! We are very happy with the results and we'll continue improving our skills!
Thank you very much!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]