Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Prenatalium

by CottonKitty - Compo Entry

Colect cells, lives, avoid viruses and radiation. Try develop a fetus from a zygote.
Use 'A' to move left.
Use 'D' to move right.
I polished it and added many features. Now it's on Steam Greenlight!
http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=578828154

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#229Graphics3.61
#301Theme3.94
#350Humor2.66
#730Mood2.57
#763Overall2.90
#773Innovation2.61
#790Fun2.65

Comments

JohnGalt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Intriguing concept. Nice progressive indications. Elements may need more affordance.

WolvesOfOdin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:53pm

I'm sorry, your baby has died. Cool game :D

Borodar says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:01pm

Nice visual style and overall very well done.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:47pm

MY BABY!

goodbadokay says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:36pm

Damm, my baby has died :D

sergicollado says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Nice concept :)

sausage_squad says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:39pm

Good visuals and simple gameplay and.. i killed a baby

RevelBase says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:49pm

I have a baby!

Aglavra says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:54pm

I think the fact that you lose life when you miss a falling cell makes a game somewhat unbalanced,

jeroenwimmers says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 1:15am

how do I start the game? I see a 100 files in the zip

SovietBear says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:14am

I'm not sure how to react with this. It's an intriguing concept, and the visual style is cool, but the game play is kinda dull.

Muel says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:14am

The faces of the thingy you control are so cute ^^

SovietBear says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:14am

I'm not sure how to react with this. It's an intriguing concept, and the visual style is cool, but the game play is kinda dull.

ssodelta says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 12:26pm

Crazy game! :D haha

Afendar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Baby is come ! yes nice game graphism are clean ! nice job il like this little game !

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:06pm

Would have loved some sound, but this was pretty cool! Great entry.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]