Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Feed Mother

by Clabbage - Jam Entry

Do your Mother's bidding in this small game, Feed Mother. You are an obedient child monster who must go about, eating smaller, less fortunate creatures in order to feed your Mother who has grown too large to feed her self. Grow your horrendous body as you gorge yourself and fill your stomach with pre-digested food. If Mother's tentacles grow long enough, perhaps she might reward you.

Controls
Left or "A" - Turn left
Right or "D" - Turn right
Left+Right or "A"+"D" - Vacuum

To feed your Mother, simply press your mouth against her.

We tried to incorporate both themes in this game.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#83Theme(Jam)4.23
#224Fun(Jam)3.54
#286Mood(Jam)3.50
#321Innovation(Jam)3.40
#333Humor(Jam)2.96
#346Audio(Jam)3.32
#390Overall(Jam)3.44
#537Graphics(Jam)3.42

Comments

kerneltt says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:08am

nice game

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:52am

pretty neat idea - i like the fact that you need to keep going back to mother - would have been nice to have a score and level prgression - goo job

Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:49am

Neat idea. Love the satisfaction of getting humongous and hoovering up a giant swarm of green bugs just as they pop up on the screen. Great use of flocking. (Were some of the stinkbugs trying to flock with my face when they couldn't find a big enough stinkbug swarm? Brilliant and frustrating in a good "how can I beat this?" kind of way!)
Some way to manage the stinkbugs in the late game would have helped me, though figuring out how to dodge them until they group up was a feeling of accomplishment.

nucleartide says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:52am

Excellent game. I love trying to go for bunches of little green things that dissipate once I get to them. :D

kirbytails7 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:16am

Nice. I enjoyed the flocking behaviors and the player movement. It took a while to understand what to do, though; I didn't know what was good or bad for a while.

Smirnov48 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:21am

It's fun and very interesting game. Good idea, good realization. Good job!

Dec 29, 2015 @ 10:49am

Ey, I like the control implementation and the mechanic. It's done in Game Maker, a +1 for me and it's very fun. I have grown my monster a lot and I really enjoyed it. Good job!

ZpeedTube says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 11:17am

Fun game and everything is really well made! This game probably got one of my highest raitings! ^^

Gordy says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:11pm

Nice game ! ;)

Japes says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:26pm

Great game! Nice spin on the classic agar.io mechanic. As others mentioned, the flocking behaviour is awesome and really adds another element to the gameplay.
A bit more info explain what the parasites/stinkbugs are and what they do would be nice. But I figured it out pretty quickly.

Markus Brand says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 1:48pm

its nice, but im missing a tutorial or something. are the purple ones bad for me? But i like the concept :)

cilerba says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:05pm

My god this game is scary lol.

scorched says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:35pm

Didn't see challenge here, but graphics and mood are in place :-)

themadknights says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 7:01pm

Pretty neat! I think the idea and the execution is nice. I miss some kind of hud and score. Nice use of both themes!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 11:47am

This was a fun game. Liked the movement of the player and thought it was nice and smooth. Also the feeding and growing aspect was satisfying.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]