Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Feed The Hole

by krashja - Compo Entry

Ludum dare i love you!!! :D

Feed The Hole

You have to grow your forest! hurry, you need to recollect everything from planet earth and bring it all to your home planet!

You have 2 buttons to do this!

Blue one: You can absorb things with this one.
Red one: You can kill the rockets coming to you!

RULES :

If you get 120 resources and you grow your forest successfully, YOU WIN

If you absorb a rocket, your home planet is destroyed, YOU LOSE
If you don't make it in less than a minute, YOU LOSE

I hope you get fun!

Good luck!

PD: Btw, I didn't drink a single cup of coffe/tea hahaha!


Made With :

- Unnity 5.3
- C#
- GraphicsGale
- Bfxr website
- PAPER!!! GRHH!!!


UPDATE : I just added Windows Version, if you have problems with GUI in windows .exe, let me know,i ll fix them.

UPDATE 2 : For those trying to use chrome, i added WebGL.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#201Humor3.04
#357Innovation3.36
#446Theme3.78
#525Graphics3.01
#542Audio2.51
#567Fun3.04
#579Mood2.82
#618Overall3.08

Comments

zatch says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:47am

Requires outdated Unity Web player. Can't play. :(

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48am

Couldn't play, because I'm on chrome. Please include a desktop version next time.

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

Needed to go on longer, but good job. I liked the absorb effect.

jcmonkey says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:49am

a nice game

Saymon says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:57am

Really cool game, good job !

graceavery says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58am

Wow, interesting idea! The physics effect of sucking things into the 'hole' is very satisfying. And very nice visuals! :)

aplomb says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:58am

Funny idea. I laughed out loud when I noticed the junk was coming out the other end of the portal and dropping on the planet.

Gameplay is pretty straightforward. It's hard to lose.

Nice work.

mrjorts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:02am

It's neat to see all the cars and stuff getting sucked up :)

scriptorum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:31am

Web player is cropped unless you go full screen. Feeding the hole was very satisfying. Num num.

rockybdubs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:50am

Didn't play in chrome, switched to Firefox. Wish it was longer! Fun!

blohod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:51am

Fun but weird cropping, I won!

MestreRothWP says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:25am

Great concept and evolution. Congrats.

aamatniekss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:48am

Really original idea! :)

Somnium says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:07pm

Loved the graphics!

Also, very nice concept, and I love the visual effect of how the absorbed stuff pile up in the left screen!

The sound effects supported the gameplay perfectly.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Fun game with a great concept! Nice job!

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:16pm

I don't know entirely what happened there, but I enjoyed it. Wish there was some sort of thing to time the missle destroyer.

Yamzho says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Great entry. May be a bit more difficulty would be nice, but in such a short time, you did well ! :)

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:43pm

A little short, but pretty cool.

RIDBers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Hi! First of all great effort with yoour videogame. I miss a background theme while playing, however I understand I haven't a team with a musician as I had :). Keep working.
RIBers programmer - LauraLaureus

SvenFrankson says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:44pm

Nice work, thanks !

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Nice game. Very short and the missile thing is a bit confusing. You don't really need the second button, just don't suck the missile

Jon Reid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:29am

Not bad, a bit short and a bit easy. Just had to hold down the absorb button to win.

Jebby says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:54am

Liking the literal 2 buttons

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:03am

I really like the idea. It's an interesting risk/reward.

Jelinib says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:54am

Wow, this is actually quite satisfying to play! I love watching the physics at work here.

I think I found a small bug, where if I'm absorbing, then release the button and immediately hold it down again, suction power stops working while I continue holding it.
A cryptic representation of what the button-holding pattern looks like:
____________/\_______________


But overall it feels pretty solid, and it's great fun! Nice job!

sirono says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:35pm

HaHa, I don't get what am I playing until the missile coming, I just keep pressing blue button and win the game. I think you should add more missile to increase the hard of the game. However, you graphic and audio is good.

jamaster96 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:25pm

Very well thought out.

MintArcade says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:51pm

Great fun, and nice mix of the themes.

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:31pm

I love how the buttons are in game buttons. I wish the mechanic of throwing things revolving around me had an in game function.

peterthehe says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Very cool concept

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:08pm

Lovely graphics, neat game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/G4-JCtlxKuU

Zeezgames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:29pm

Nice little game here music was decent and graphicd were nice

Well Done!!

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:36pm

this game sucks XD, very creative, well done

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:44am

Interesting idea, though I found it to be a little bit too easy.

_HopFrog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:38am

Short but fun! Audio gets a little bit annoying though!

VideoDog says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:41am

Great idea. If only it were a bit more complex and longer.

MercuryXGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:13am

nice game!

Gamepopper says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Pretty straightforward game, liked how objects swirled around you before you ate them. Shame there's no music to go along with this.

maunovaha says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Rather cool game.. pretty short, but mine was too :) !.. with more work on the graphics/sounds etc. it could be even better. :)

andyman404 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:22pm

Great use of the themes. Love the A-Team van.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Nice game)

Krafty says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:25am

Nice game, I like the graphics. Not sure what I did to make the game end though =P

candlesan says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:49am

Cool thematic! :)

CremaGames says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:13am

I missed some music here and a longer gameplay session. It's really easy to win and finish the game.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:44pm

Simple but pretty fun and addictive concept. My only problem is that it's a bit too easy since you can just hold the absorb button for as long as you want with no limits and release it when a missile is near.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Nice game, fun concept of creating alien trees :)

ImYellowFish says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:03am

cute game! the graphics style is very interesting. A little surprised when I found that red button can destroy missiles wherever they are: easier than I thought! :D Maybe you can add more difficulty here.

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:24am

pretty simple but I liked the ideas and it was pretty fun, nice job :)

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 6:41am

I liked the game. I enjoyed capturing all the objects. Could probably be a little bit more difficult in some ways, but really a great start.

MaulUdder says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:52pm

Liking the concept very much, but a bit on the short & easy side.

Dec 19, 2015 @ 3:59pm

You should rename the "WebGL" version above as "Chrome" as I'm seeing quite a few comments that people cannot run the game on chrome, even though you put up a chrome version.

Anyway, game was good fun, if short and a bit too easy, i completed it first time without dying.

I like that the buttons are in fact buttons on a cockpit that you click - technically you have only the one button! Good job.

Gornova says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:54pm

Soo.. this is a strange entry, really. Not bad!!
I think fit theme perfectly, for both themes but it's too easy ? Just avoid 2 or 3 missiles and you can win

mattrified says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 3:42am

I WON!!!

Interesting game. The absorption twirl motion and correlation between absorbing and growth was cool.

Nice job, :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 5:05am

that was crazy - but i liked it - warping junk to another planet to grow trees - awesome

crucknuk says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:07am

Nice entry! I am not sure I would live on a planete made out of car wreck xD

scorched says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 9:53am

I won, my score is 125 :-) Good game, but too short :-)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]