Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ultimate Sky Horse Rider

by fxtagn - Jam Entry

Avoid storm clouds while traveling on BaloonHorse! ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#174Humor(Jam)3.40
#361Audio(Jam)3.30
#533Theme(Jam)3.65
#634Graphics(Jam)3.21
#718Fun(Jam)2.91
#738Mood(Jam)2.94
#874Overall(Jam)2.89
#929Innovation(Jam)2.40

Comments

jsmars says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:27am

Haha fun theme, a bit similar to our entry in gameplay :)

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:03pm

Cute game! Would avoid having Space for the try again button, since it's a web player, and hitting Space makes the page move down. Nicely done!

Gipzo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:07pm

Funny main character and great music. Thou the gameplay could be richer with othe obsacles or more smooth controls.

mikedurn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:28pm

Funny and fun. I like the horse's nonchalant look. Nice design.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:22pm

Well this is funny!) Would love to see some increasing difficulty, cause after 500+ score I had a feeling that I couldn't loose. Otherwise nice entry!

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

How can people have such ideas? o.O
Control is a bit slow, was sometime impossible to avoid clouds right next to each other.

fxtagn says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:43pm

> sometime impossible to avoid clouds right next to each other.
Yep, it's unmerciful roguelike baloon-horse riding! =D

h.attila says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:52am

Really funny idea and I love the presentation - the sprites look nice and the audio is great as well. I found the game a bit hard though, I die really early. :)

XenosNS says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:25am

Loved horsing around in this

redzero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:54am

HAHAHAHA awesome game! Really funny.

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:50am

Funny game, with that horse baloon xd And you fit very well with the theme :)

daveh says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Funky music. Liked the aesthetic, it was a bit surreal. Functionally it worked well, but I would have liked some increase in difficulty. Good use of both themes.

thelasthour says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:47pm

Cool game. I wish it would have gotten harder as I progressed though. Also, allowing the user to hold the movement buttons to ascend and descend would have been nice. Great job though!

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:21pm

funy game. I like it

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:59pm

Hilarious. I liked your entry. When I have seen the pretty background, I said myself - this game is so cute. I love this flying horse. Of course, the gameplay isn't really original, but it respects the theme. A good project. Neat ++

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:00pm

The mood, the and humor are strong in this one! Well done guys :D

Manu & Wan says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:31am

270 :)

Awesome theme and music! The gameplay is simple but works well.

dweebster says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 11:56pm

Nice game, simple and good theme. Liked the funky music too :)

Brightstar says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:49pm

Nice horse game! Nice horse tunes!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]