Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Nybble Nybble

by Hybrog - Jam Entry

Do you love to be frustrated? Good good, then this game will suit you perfectly...

This is your typical dodge-everything game, but with a slight twist, tying in with the two-button theme: your input scheme changes based on an XOR binary encryption that changes at increasing intervals. Sounds painful? Yes, yes it is. A truth table of inputs and corresponding direction outputs can be found at the link below, but I find the game is much more challenging without it.

i.imgur.com/BiiXdEg.png

Made in Lua + LOVE2D, code is far from polished as this was my first true project in Lua. Going to go back to C++ next time around, more familiar with my engine there, but this was a fun experiment regardless. Oh well, lessons learned, maybe the masochists out there enjoy this monstrosity anyway.

Also, use 'a' and 'd' to navigate the menus and for, well, everything really.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#271Innovation(Jam)3.47
#360Theme(Jam)3.83
#679Humor(Jam)2.33
#754Fun(Jam)2.87
#829Overall(Jam)2.97
#892Graphics(Jam)2.57

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:10pm

I like the input control system. It was odd at first, but I got the hang of it quickly. Nice game!

tompudding says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:41pm

That's a nice challenge. Very difficult! I wish I had more time with each key as I usually die very soon after it changes

Flygamer101 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:40pm

Interesting concept and difficult game. Still, held my interest for quite some time.

Pandaman3D says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Pretty neat. It took me a bit to understand, but once I got it. It was pretty fun and challenging :)

Masuno says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:59pm

This is a very nice challenge, but I do not have the patience (nor the Coolness) to try more than a few times... right now. It's gonna stay on my desktop for now though. I'll get much further next time. Promise. >.> <.<

Mirch says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:02am

Really meant it with the frustration...but I like it!
15 seconds is the longest I survived..for now. Anyway, maybe you could put a little readme or something because the controls were weird for me at first.

Starspell says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 2:45am

"You done died" :) Well at least I lasted 30 seconds on my first attempt. Reading your description I was worried that it was going to be unplayable, but it really wasn't. A nice simple game with a semi-interesting idea put on it.

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:52am

Omg, first game with XOR mechanics :)

Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:07pm

An ingenious use of the theme, really good!

It is very Brain-intensive, but it's kind of fun!

Dracir says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Very cool idea! Simple yet challenging! My brain! I need to relearn moving!

Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Interesting idea, feels somewhat limited though

Mantlair says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 1:40pm

Consept is interesting and pretty hardcore when it switches suddenly. Havent played too much but maybe I will since these games will stay on my LD folder. Well done!

jachepe says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 7:09pm

A bit difficult but it´s very interesting game. Great work!

Dohxis says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:13pm

The control system is fun but just about as you seem to get how it works you god damn switch it :D! Damn it :D.... Game is super difficult and there's not much too it, but the I love the idea! Good job :)

CodeNMore says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:36pm

Frustratingly fun!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:44pm

Interesting, the controls were definitely creative for 2 button controls.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]