Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Ritual of Flowers

by amorphous - Jam Entry

A strange dance of flowers that requires two dancers, predefined paths, and an endless supply of light beams. Very experimental.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#82Innovation(Jam)3.85
#274Mood(Jam)3.52
#296Theme(Jam)3.92
#390Overall(Jam)3.44
#427Graphics(Jam)3.62
#670Fun(Jam)2.96
#1507Coolness46%

Comments

gallerdude says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:46pm

Experimental? Yes. Fun? Yes. Took a second to figure out, but it's a fun game. A multiplayer version would be a great app.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:48pm

Lovely! Always good to see some new mechanic (at least for me), and theme is also very nice.

Lukbebalduke says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:16am

Yeah, I won! Very smooth gameplay and graphics, I just felt like my shield wasn't working.. anyway, cool game!

PeachTreeOath says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:22am

It's a bit difficult to tell what is going on; the graphics aren't doing a good job of showing what is part of the scene and what is just there for display. Once you realize you are on a fixed path though it becomes more interesting.

sugarbyte says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:22am

Very pretty!

TheBreakfast says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:33am

Good use of the theme. Using pre-defined paths definitely opens this up in a neat way. It adds a little bit of a tactical element to when you should switch abilities.

Is this multiplayer? I felt a bit like I was facing off against another player.

I think sound definitely would have helped this, and I experienced quite a bit of slowdown after a minute or so.

Eingya says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:56am

Quite a nice concept, would love to see it expanded on.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:38am

Great Backgrounds and the site was a nice touch. While ultimately 2 button controls, i think the game was harder for it, but not more rewarding. It didn't seem to complement the gameplay.

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Fun stuff! I like the variety of switching abilities at the right moment. All 3 seems to be of use. Nicely done.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Pretty fun :D

acotis says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:45pm

Brilliant! I considered doing a sort of switch-action/perform-action for the two-button control them, but decided it was too hard to implement properly. I'm glad someone nailed it :)

Darkflint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:06pm

A bit confusing in the beginning, but a fun game. It really cries for a multiplayer version

dustyroom says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:29pm

For some reason I couldn't use my shield as often as the blue one did.

Gordy says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:15pm

Nice ;)

Sam Twidale says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:18pm

Took a moment to figure out what was going on, due to the low contrast between things like the path and stuff in the background. Apart from that I really liked it!

Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:20pm

I think this is a really clever (and also beautiful) game. It squeezes a huge amount of functionality out of two buttons by using combinations of tap, hold and release together with the predefined paths and rotations of the dancers. I love the audio too.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]