Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Economical Growth

by Gemberkoekje - Compo Entry

Economical Growth is a simulation about Economical Growth... But despite all my good ideas at the beginning of the weekend, it ended up being a really basic form of a Civilization-esque game.

--- Please be aware that the loading takes quite a while, a minute or so, because the game is generating a map for you. ---

This is a 2 player game about growing your country and eventually destroying the other country.

(I intended something with ecological effects and disasters... yeah... maybe post-compo)

You start with 1 city. The city will produce Food and Basic Resources. With these, you can build a Settler. The Settler can settle another city - I suggest settling your second city near Forest. Forest gives extra Basic Resources.

To move, select the unit, select the 'move' button, and click up to 2 places away from the unit. (Post-compo dream: That people can see where they can move!)

When you have a good amount of Basic Resources, you can make a Builder. A Builder makes Factories. (Post-compo dream: Roads!) Factories take 2 Basic Resources and turn them into 1 Advanced Resource.

Use Advanced Resources to make Fighters. Fighters can move through enemy territory, destroy enemy units, and capture enemy cities.

You won when you capture the last enemy city, which results in the other country to stop existing! Yay conquer!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#454Humor2.42
#484Mood2.95
#570Overall3.13
#654Graphics2.79
#705Innovation2.75
#782Fun2.67
#823Theme3.21
#1468Coolness47%

Comments

BloodJohn says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:20pm

Please build webGL version!

Ovidios says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:52pm

While I like 2-player games, I didn't have anyone around right now, so I played against myself. The first city's location seemed pretty unfair. Player 1 was right next to a river which probably was what slowed his production down a lot. Also ülayer 1 was like 10 tiles away from the nearest forest, while player 2 could reach one in a single turn. It's very simple right now but there are lot's of ways to add depth to a game like this. Highest priority feature for a post compo release would be an AI-opponent imo.
Still fun overall! ^^

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:55pm

@BloodJohn I will look at this tomorrow.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 8:57pm

@ovidos thanks for playing. I agree with all your points, game needs just a bit more tweaking at this point, as well as a bit of UI improvements

Gornova says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:14pm

some ideas:
- add a "generate world", an explanation is always a good thing!
- some little sounds ? I mean maybe done with http://www.superflashbros.net/as3sfxr/
- less transparent panel for instructions, to be more readable (IMHO)
- concept is good, but you should add a basic AI, otherwise is boring. Idea: produce a little, then create fighter, so player have to defend!

et1337 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Love the colors. Cool world (proc gen I assume). Some interesting ideas. I like the visualization of growth. But why does everything seem to take at least 20 turns to build?

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:59pm

@Gornova All valid, unfortunately I ran out of time :P
@et1337 Thanks for playing, it really needs a bit of balancing.

ninos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:20pm

I loved the economical part in this game, really made it great :D

amras0000 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:24pm

biggest issues in the game right now:
-the maps are too big, takes forever to get to the other player's play area, and with the max zoom as it is it takes a while to even find them.
-it takes far too long to create units, at least initially. A 4x game like this should never start with 100 turns of both players waiting for a settler, especially in a hotseat. Maybe allow the players to choose starting locations so they're both in forest?
-To get my warrior across the map, I had to: rightclickdrag to get my carea to him, click on the warrior, click on the 'Move' button, click on the space I wanted him to move, click end turn, rinse and repeat. My mouse hand is cramped up now. This would be easily fixed with a hotkey for "next warrior" (tab?) and a hotkey for movement (M?). I couldn't be bothered to get more than one warrior to enemy territory because scaling such a huge territory was painful with even the one.
-There's no end-of-game. When all a player's cities are sacked, nothing happens. I'm guessing this is to allow a player with a warrior to retake a city, but there didn't seem to be a way to destroy warriors from what I could tell? I know one of mine did get despawned, but I don't know how.

Otherwise, the mechanics are actually really solid, and the production chain makes for that great dynamic of building up an economic base, and timing the start of the war machine just right.

hpearson2 says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Video is set to private

Shurty says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:06am

Nice work, the economical part is trully interesting

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 2:42pm

Video is now public! sorry!

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:13pm

Boring. No two button controls,but Growing theme is creatively used.

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:25am

Oy, your left and right mouse buttons are still 2 buttons! ;)

anotak says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:16pm

Seems interesting, but I don't have a 2nd person to play with.

Minor nitpicks:
Weirdly long loading time at start, and text was hard to read because of size/color/translucent background

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]