Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Super Spacesquids

by timsjostrand - Compo Entry

Help a lonely space traveller defeat the evil space squid!

Controls:
- Move around with the W, A, S and D keys
- Aim with the mouse
- Left Click attacks in the direction of the player
- Right Click performs a dodge roll

(No theme, just for funsies)



==== CHANGELOG ====
v1.1 (2015-12-15):
- VSync: Fixed screen shake bug when VSync was disabled.
- OSX: Fixed mouse problems on Retina screens.
- OSX: Fixed crash on startup without XCode installed.
- Windows: Hopefully fixed "MSVCR120.dll missing" error some encountered.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#133Graphics3.89
#192Humor3.07
#363Audio2.89
#433Mood3.03
#434Fun3.22
#491Overall3.22
#692Innovation2.77
#914Theme2.74

Comments

realbogart says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:50am

Awesome!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:50am

I like the graphics! I really didn't know what I was doing, though.

Move127 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:53am

I love the art for the squid. It would have been nice if there was more stuff around.

mf1214 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:55am

Fun boss fight. I like how it changes up its attacks.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:56am

Shit, that was hard! Great graphics!

spangj says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:06am

Can't get enough!

irwatts says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:23am

Great art! Punishing but I liked it. I also enjoyed reading the console log. ouch!

powerkraut_ says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:36am

Really like the art

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:03am

I could not really tell what the theme was. There where more then 2 controls and nothing grew. Maybe I did not play enough.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:41pm

Nice game!! the graphics are absolutely awesome!

Transmit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:44pm

The graphics was great, and the gameplay itself pretty fun, but how was it related to the theme?

laFunk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Superb graphics, nice gameplay (super hard!), I don't see the theme though! Cheers!

Luke says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:09pm

Wasn't able to get it running on my mac. D:

"dyld: Library not loaded: @rpath/libclang_rt.asan_osx_dynamic.dylib
Referenced from: /Users/-/Downloads/LudumDare/ld34-timsjostrand-osx/ld34
Reason: image not found
Trace/BPT trap: 5
"

Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:26pm

Unable to run. "MSVCR120.dll missing". At work right now, so will have to wait till I get home to give it a go.

lojohan912 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:34pm

I tried to get it to run on my Linux computer but it said "MSVCR120.dll missing" or something like that. I tried downloading some .exe and running it with wine. It said it was going to fix my problem but now I have something called "Smart Card Manager" on my computer. What should I do?

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:28pm

If you get "MSVCR120.dll missing" try installing Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime (you may not have it on work computer).

Sorry no Linux support yet!

MiggyGMan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:05pm

It was really interesting but I didn't know what I was doing at first

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:04pm

Fun game wish it was longer.

Kuality Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Enjoyable boss fight! Cute game

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:49am

Fairly nice engine for a top down action game, but I feel like it needs some more enemies, as well as a way to heal. Didn't really see a theme connection, but at least it was fun.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:12am

Zoidberg?!

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:15pm

Why not Zoidberg! :-)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:12am

Could have done with some more content, loved the art on the squid.

DustyStylus says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Collision detection a bit merciless, but ran absolutely fine on OSX here. Great art, tough game, a good entry! :)

PixlWalkr says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 1:13am

Neat game and nice graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]