Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Sheeps gotta eat

by mxjones - Jam Entry

My first ever Ludum dare entry, and my first ever game.

It's ugly, riddled with bugs and pretty awful in most respects, but I'm pleased I managed to create something that you can actually 'play'

Controls:
Move with WASD / Arrow keys
M will mute all sound
For Windows build, ESC will quit the game.

The game involves you playing as a sheep, the goal is to eat fruit and grow in size. However! There are other sheep also eating fruit and growing in size, eat sheep that are smaller than you but avoid any sheep that are larger.

You will gradually shrink in size when you are not eating fruit.

I didn't get around to creating a title screen, so you are thrown straight into the game. When you are eaten by a larger sheep, the game will reset and you will be respawned.

Made with;
Unity 3D 5.3 (C#)
GIMP
Tiled (http://www.mapeditor.org/download.html)
FL Studio
bfxr (http://www.bfxr.net/)

Sheep sounds from: http://www.freesfx.co.uk/soundeffects/sheep_goats/

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#398Humor(Jam)2.85
#513Audio(Jam)3.00
#615Theme(Jam)3.58
#758Fun(Jam)2.86
#898Mood(Jam)2.56
#914Graphics(Jam)2.48
#983Overall(Jam)2.71
#1023Innovation(Jam)2.05
#1648Coolness42%

Comments

Gyfis says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 7:11pm

It resembled a similar game with fishes - which I like, so this is nice as well! I'd create a larger map, and perhaps a more cruel starvation curve :) But overall, well done!

icereci says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:50pm

agar.io with sheeps.. love it.

Vosvek says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 10:50pm

Reminds me of the intro to Spore, and Agar.io. Simple, yet entertaining. Though I wish there was more to do. Also, blood splatters when consuming your kin would add to the humour of doing so -- it would make you feel that much more evil.

Congratulations on completing your first dare. :D

BROWNY_09 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:59am

Good job man. It's like agar.io with sheep. Congrats on your first game.

matthewd673 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:11am

The graphics weren't all that great but the rest was polished and really fun!

gabriel_pnc says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:22am

agar.io with sheeps.. I did not love it.

Boberro says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:50pm

Lacks a goal, but game is well done, and it could be easily fixed by removing the enemy-sheep respawn (with a goal to be the only sheep around).

David Cookie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:16pm

It effectively lack a goal but well done overall! Flow/Spore/Agar.io really have inspire a lot of people with this "growing" theme, but it's a good inspiration :)

Xanjos says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Pretty humorous take on the "eat smaller things to grow whilst avoiding bigger things" mechanic. I really like how your sheep shrinks in size over time. Overall not bad for your first game :)

zenmumbler says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:23pm

I am the God King Sheep, bow befor… NO! I'm shrinking! This was hilarious in its ridiculousness. Just fine for a first game.

Weloxux says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:06pm

Not the most original concept, but pretty cutely done. Didn't find that many bugs, except for sheep flying out of the map.

adsilcott says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 9:23pm

Being a giant sheep is pretty funny!

trozen says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 10:15pm

Was kinda awkward to control, since the LD34 site put the game in a subwindow, which was also controlled by the arrow keys, so my actual camera was moving around like crazy. Pretty simle, and like many have mentioned it compares to Agar.Io . The slowly shrinking effect does add a bit more tension to the process though.

gallerdude says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 6:17pm

Class eating game, but pretty fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]