Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Plumber Panic

by Mr.Chippy - Jam Entry

"You boss stole some treasure and had you guard it..."
In Plumber Panic you are a plant that lives in pipes. You need to stop the plumbers from going down the pipes to get the treasure.

My LudumDare34 entry.

Controls
Left/Right arrow keys-Move

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#457Humor(Jam)2.74
#713Audio(Jam)1.96
#743Theme(Jam)3.40
#791Innovation(Jam)2.71
#817Fun(Jam)2.76
#861Overall(Jam)2.92
#926Graphics(Jam)2.44
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

CodeNMore says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:31am

This is a great simple mechanic, I liked it a lot - however after a short time it becomes completely impossible.

_benhumphries says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:36am

I like the theme, but the gameplay gets boring quickly. The sounds were unbearable to me. Good job, though!

chaomoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:41pm

basically just a game of how long you can mash the left and right arrow keys

davesoft says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:42pm

Haha, nice inversion of Mario's situation. Could do with some powerups or a goal to stop it feeling repetitive, but otherwise great :)

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:47pm

The gameplay got repetitive really quickly and could be cheesed easily by spamming the left and right buttons. Adding a delay to switching sides may fix this, but you'll likely also need to reduce the number of plumbers to compensate.

PushFirst says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:35pm

It is Ok.

Blobo says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:42pm

The game got stale pretty fast.

themadknights says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:50pm

Simple mechanic but when it gets serious it gets interesting. Nice game.

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 3:18pm

good use of the concept, as game progress it becomes impossible after 60 points.. may be little slow in char movement and turning speed of left & right will make game interesting

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:02pm

It got pretty hard pretty quick!
I like the idea of playing as the plant in a 'mario' game.
Would be cool to see it expanded upon

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]