Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Cosmic Bloom

by Suaave - Jam Entry

Cosmic Bloom is a game about finding beauty in the randomness of a growing world.

Plant some stuff and wait for the magic to happen!

Fly near the plants and listen...


We hope you have fun with our little game :)


Follow us on twitter:
@fancyN3rd @KhalisiSchinken @suaaveofficial

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#81Mood(Jam)3.93
#310Audio(Jam)3.39
#317Graphics(Jam)3.79
#465Innovation(Jam)3.21
#558Overall(Jam)3.28
#668Theme(Jam)3.52
#921Fun(Jam)2.59

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46pm

The sun is setting, and my world is soo preeetttyyy :)

xodene says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Wow great job on the mood and graphics, 5/5 for those categories. I'm a fan of low poly stuff. Game fits the theme nicely as well.

Simonaiso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:56pm

Nice creative game, mood is really great. I wasn't sure what effect my clicking in the world had, trees just seem to sprout out of nowhere when I did nothing as well. Sound is cool, because it is experimental

r8berto says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57pm

Beautiful experience!! I would have loved that it felt like I was walking rather than floating though. The sound effects are amazing, reminded me Proteus. Great job!

Hackbug says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:57pm

I don't think you game is a game, but it's a good poetic experience ( like Journey i suppose ^^ ) Good experience, i was stayed in front of this forest a long time and was walking in, contemplate the beauty and listen the melodic music :)

pi_pi3 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:23pm

Good god. This is beautiful.

ToloaGames says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:41pm

Always wanted to have my own Forest.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:19pm

really nice project.
i think it's interesting how we both went into the same direction.
is there something at the university that made us be into atmospheric music games?
is it some kind of conspiracy? ^^

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:44pm

Not a bad idea, but it seems that something is missing. Maybe there should be more art component.
By the way, it's remind me http://www.visitproteus.com/

Good luck ^_^

gokottastudio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:53pm

Really liked the idea!!! Beautiful concept with the sound, got lost in the forest hearing. Beautiful experiece.

Didn't like that you can get through the land. Anyway, is just a little detail :)

Boberro says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:14pm

Strange little thing. Cute.

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:46pm

Very pretty game, the art is awsome as well as the music

Dianouille says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:32pm

Beautiful graph and mood, good job !

uthamon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Cute little piece of art. The more forest grows the more beautiful it becomes.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:41pm

Interesting little game. Really appeals to me. My only problem was framerate issues, but I understand optimizing isn't something that is easy in a jam.

Jishenaz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:21pm

Best mood! The world that formed was really beautiful. The gravity-less controls make the player feel like a forest spirit or something.

Unfortunately, there was some lag on my decent computer, so I would imagine it would be worse on others. The lag was most evident when you look at the whole forest (day or night) and when the sun was out (so I always look forward to nighttime). There might be a need to do mesh optimizations, but that might not be easy, especially if the tree leaves are being procedurally generated.

Anyhow, beautiful work of art.

Suaave says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:37pm

@Jishenaz:
Thanks a lot for your feedback. I'm happy that you like it.
About the performance issues: you're absolutely right.
During the jam, we already had to decrease the amount of polygons in the models. Unfortunately we didn't have time to create different LOD models but maybe that's something we will see in a revised version. ;)

rjhelms says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 11:09pm

Very nice and relaxing experience. Good stuff!

Chubb1337 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 12:33pm

Good mood, but it started lagging quite fast.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]