Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tycho Recon

by NoradZero - Jam Entry

Here my Ludum Dare 34 entry called 'Tycho Recon'! This is my first time participating in a Ludum Dare with a friend of mine who is a very talented sound and music artist.

This is a hard fast-reflex game where you control a hovercraft that needs to collect supply crates. The game has 4 stages and is considered fully finished!

Your Mothership has crash-landed on an unknown celestial body. You and your crew have set up base camp, however, your supply crates were scattered across miles of treacherous terrain. Without the supply crates your crew will perish. Your hovercraft appears to have sustained no damage. As the only surviving pilot it is up to you to retrieve the supply crates and return to base.

!!IMPORTANT NOTE!!
- The game has been made with Unity 5.3.0. Unfortunally, there is a known bug in this version of Unity with their
display system which make the UI bugged in fullscreen mode. PLEASE play the game in windowed mode. I think you can
play in native fullscreen aswell but only at a native resolution. (Apply to non-web versions)
- MacOS and Linux builds NOT tested.
- Web version can take a bit to load. (15 secs)

Rules:
- You can carry a maximum of 3 supply crates at the same time.
- You must brake in order to grab a supply crate.
- Each time you brake your score decreases.
- Each time you grab a supply crate, your weight increases.
- You must reach the other side of each stage with at least TWO crates to complete the stage.

Goals:
- You must complete the 4 stages with the most collected crates and the best score. Good luck!

Controls:
- 'B' for braking.
- 'Space' for jumping.

Credits:
- Sébastien Guillemette (Programming, Graphics)
- John McKiever (Sound, Music, Logo)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness52%
#325Theme(Jam)3.88
#356Audio(Jam)3.31
#471Mood(Jam)3.27
#547Fun(Jam)3.12
#586Graphics(Jam)3.31
#637Innovation(Jam)2.96
#658Humor(Jam)2.39
#677Overall(Jam)3.15

Comments

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:12am

It's really hard, or at least, too hard at the start. I like the brake mechanic. It's simple, but it works. Visuals are nice, and the sound is really good. Love the low purr of the hovercraft.

alvaromartin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:13am

Hi, I like your game! Pretty cool! I got to stage 4. The controls play between break and jump were kinda cool once I got the hang of it. Would've been cool to have a couple of tutorial levels to help players understand the mechanics.

Neoludo says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:12am

Nice concept! Very difficult game though - maybe some kind of health system rather than immediate explosions would've been nice. Music was awesome.

fxtagn says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:13am

Interesting, but too hardcore at start.

Dalkor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:17am

It took awhile to get the hand of everything and even then I only got to stage 3 with 4 blocks. Fun game, looks great and the audio work is on point.

tweedle says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:20am

Solid idea and execution!
It would be nice if the game started easier, and the difficulty ramped up as the player progressed.
Great entry!

NoradZero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:20am

Thanks for the feedback so far guys! Really appreciated!

DrTeaSpoon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:36am

Plays lot like the Robot Unicorn Attack. Well done.

martim00 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:52am

Indeed it is hard but after a while it gets fun. I found more easy to play almost in break mode and accelerating only when it is really necessary.

JohnWatmuff says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:41pm

Loved the theme. Its really hard though! Graphics were very polished for this time frame: good job.

Weeping Rupee says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:59am

quite difficult, but I like it that way. Good work.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:13pm

A bit too difficult at the start, but otherwise an enjoyable game!

pixelpotions says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:25pm

Solid entry, really hard until you get used to it. Good job!

hunttis says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:47am

Veeerry difficult. Makes me wish the timer that makes me wait for a retry would be faster.

Brightstar says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:46pm

Cool game. Challenging.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]