Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Glow Run

by ryan.poitras - Compo Entry

A short little runner style game. With more work, adding procedural level generation, sounds and music, and ways to "die" would make this into an endless runner. This prototype has a small test level and core mechanics mostly sorted out.

It's my first attempt at a Ludum Dare. Wasn't actually able to dedicate a lot of time to it but it was mostly about trying and to see what it's all about.

Thanks, enjoy!

Edit* I noticed after submit that my level reset isn't resetting the point lights properly. SORRY!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2253Coolness17%

Comments

mukult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:27am

A good attempt...
but just a few quick points..

The gameplay dint feel smooth enough.
The controls kinda felt clunky... like I did not have much control over what was happening.

But nice job!! Keep going forward! :)

gallerdude says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:56pm

Liked the mood!

Clavus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:09am

An okay concept. Controls react a bit slowly for such a fast-paced runner. Pleasing graphic style though :)

Rob Glen says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:15am

Ctrl and space feel a bit too awkward, maybe something like z and x or arrow keys might be more suitable? Might be better to have several key configurations active at the same time so people can pick what to use. I like the aura around the orb and the momentum of the game, I feel like the tail of orbs following should follow closer though because that seemed like a nice touch but I didn't notice it until I got caught on something, and it was off the screen when I was at full speed.

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:03pm

Fun little game, it was quite easy to get the ball stuck though. I found that the force down key wasn't very useful, I think a forward dash would have been more suitable - to go faster and to help you get unstuck easier.

pkenney says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:07am

Nice job on your first LD, you have some potential here because it's a lot of fun to build up speed.

It really, really needs a restart button that is not on the mouse and can be pushed any time, not only at the end. I would have played far more than I did if I could instantly reset the game when I took a hit and lost my speed.

The moment of failure for the player is that key moment where you want to think about how your game will avoid losing them. In this one I feel bad when I get stopped, and then I have to dig my way out by jumping until I get unstuck and start rolling slowly again, and then complete the whole level, then lean forward off my couch to get the mouse and push that button, then I can lean back and play some more. Sounds like I'm overstating it but it's huge imo.

Restart-button rant aside, I dig this entry. The 3d perspective is cool and the difficulty kept me wanting to roll out just one more time.

Afendar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:03pm

Simple game but in the theme ! Good job for your first entry ;)

Geckoo1337 says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:57pm

Ctrl and space feel a bit too awkward, maybe arrow keys might be more suitable - it's my point of view. Interesting concept ++

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]