Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SLUG STORM

by Niels.Tiercelin - Jam Entry

(Fullscreen recommended)

Your planet is under attack !
Gear up and annihilate the invaders with your planes, and track them down up to the stratosphere.

---INSTRUCTIONS---

1. FLY WITH YOUR MOUSE. The plane will go towards your crosshair.

TIP : DON'T PUT THE CROSSHAIR TOO CLOSE TO THE PLANE. You won't have a smooth flying otherwise.

2. Dive to gain speed, HOLD LEFT CLICK TO SHOOT.(exepted for lvl 2 where you shoot by bursts)

3. USE YOUR SPECIAL SKILL WITH RIGHT CLICK. The big red button indicates when you can use it.

4.Kill enemies. Don't die.You'll get a better plane as you go up.


---SPECIAL SKILLS---

Level 1 : Rapid Dive to dodge enemies.

Level 2 : Full throttle dash. You are invulnerable and can pierce through enemies.

Level 3 : Drop a bomb. You can either wait for it to touch something or blow it up manually using Right Mouse Button Again.

Level 4 : Big Ass Laser. You can KILL EVERYTHING. Everywhere.



Credits :

Niels Tiercelin - Game Design and Programming
Keryann Malacchina - Game Design and Programming
Lili Csonka - Character Art, Animations & FX
Maxime Bak - Environment Art, Title Screen & UI
Arthur Bonhomme - Sound Design

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#312Graphics(Jam)3.80
#327Audio(Jam)3.35
#398Fun(Jam)3.30
#475Overall(Jam)3.36
#677Mood(Jam)3.01
#730Humor(Jam)2.22
#922Innovation(Jam)2.42
#966Theme(Jam)2.90

Comments

Drunkain says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:07am

Funny game, made me think at Luftrausers ! But the drop in the music of the first level is a bit dissapointed, I was waiting for something more.. punchy !

Florent Juch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Ahah lots of fun ! The gamefeel is great too ! Good work guys !

fistmaker says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:49am

This was a very fun game! Good all the way around. Like a side scrolling 1942. Good job!

bearcabin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:49am

super cool sprites

BubuIIC says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:55am

Cool game. The sprites were well made and the advance of the enemies was very challenging. These poor birds though.

MrMordem says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:18am

really good game, and i liked how every level lets you play a different plane with different abilities instead of upgrading the same one, plus you get to go to spaaaaace ! well done :)

gv1351 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:20am

I really love the art

ChaosCult says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:29am

Very cool. The plane controls could use more work - it's very twitchy atm, feels strange and buggy. Otherwise great game.

NoWandStudios says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:42am

Nice job, clasic gameplay but effective.

marod says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:45am

I liked it. It's a simple game but i really have a lot of fun with it

Kerdelos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:48am

Really nice game, i reaaaallly love level's 3 music!

zzapp says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:21am

Good game, graphics were nice and music was great.

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:58pm

Music, graphics, gameplay on good level! Great!

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:11pm

Level 3 was great, i loved the music and the space ducks. :D Controls were weird tho, for most of the time I had no idea what's going on and the plane was all bananas. :D

VladRusu says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:54pm

badass game over here! *drops a bomb, kills haters*

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Fun little game! I think if the flying was a bit more physics-based it would have felt a lot smoother to play, but otherwise it was a fun game overall! Keep up the good work!

zguerrero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:11pm

Graphics are great!

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:33pm

For a Ludum Dare entry this has a lot of content! I'm especially impressed with the graphics and music.
I didn't see how you used the theme though.

Gornova says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:35pm

Funny game, well done!
Controls are not so good at first, but I like your style, music, graphics.

It's a really fun game for me! :D



And.. duck in spaaace!!

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:40pm

@Simon : You only use the mouse, being a two button controller (wich made the controls difficult for some people). :)
And there is the growing in speed/altitude/power throughout the game but it is a bit less obvious.

mikoĊ‚ak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:42pm

Loved the aquarium-helmet ducks!

Chewie says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:42pm

+ Visuals are good
+ Different planes/enemies and weapons, that's nice
- Mouse close to the airplane make it behave strangely (Yes I know it was in description but it affects gameplay)
- Overall speed is a bit to hi and bullets are slow, it makes game harder and less enjoyable

Troma says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:14pm

Great work! Pretty fun:)

Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:05am

Great art, cool physics! Great work on this! I enjoyed it.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:02pm

+ Fun gameplay.
+ Nice graphics.

- Music is too loud.
- Sometimes when the ship rotates, it rotates too fast back and forth.

tribrain says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:59pm

Cool game!!!

Quique says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 7:30pm

Wow! a great game.
The graphics are good, but the plane movement could be more smooth.
Great job.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Nice game. I enjoyed the music and the gameplay was great.

Peekotus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:12pm

Cool game :D

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:13am

What made the game weird is the realism matched with fast controls.. you know, planes don't move this way.. you should have used a simpler art or made a different gameplay mechanics.

Dec 18, 2015 @ 2:58pm

@Nunesbarbosa : There is absolutely no realism in this game. For example, planes don't shoot fireballs, nor ducks fly in space. Thanks for playing anyway.

Ludic says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:52pm

Fun game, i like the music of all levels and the difference between each ship its a nice touch.

camlang says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 6:56pm

It seems as the enemies take too many bullets to kill. Most of the time I was blasting through them)

Drury says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:02pm

The game feels wrong to play, but the art is super good. Excellent sprites, excellent music, great mood.

Janacek says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Nice game ! Nice graphics ! Nice music ! Just the controls who sometimes make you hit planes :o

SHLFStudios says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:02pm

Not bad, but I feel like this skirts the theme of two button control... because mouse movement is kinda technically 4 button control on it's own (positive and negative axis). It's very well put together, and the music is pretty good!

timeshapers says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:16pm

Beautiful, but not very interesting gameplay.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:51am

Nice and polished looking game, but the way the ship handles was really wonky. Still, it was fun!

crucknuk says ...
Dec 26, 2015 @ 1:06pm

Nice entry! Lots of contents for a LD! Physics is a bit weird when you turn around, but apparts from that, I really like this game! Congrats ;)

Guard13007 says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 9:24pm

Holy shit! That was amazing! My favorite game so far! :D

RevelBase says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:17pm

Cool Game. I love the graphics and the music.

Xanjos says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 7:07pm

Pretty fun entry. I liked how you were in control of a different plane each level. Controls could do with some tweaking though.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]