Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Jeff is having issues controlling his appetite

by Ittai Manero - Jam Entry

PLEASE, READ THE NOTES AT THE BOTTOM BEFORE PLAYING! :)

You play as a weird little monster with two-button eyes who has issues controlling his appetite.

ARROWS to move around
SPACE for interacting
F for Fullscreen
W for Windowed mode

-----
SOME NOTES:

After all the hard work I couldn't finish this thing at all and also there is a lot of bugs and stuff I couldn't fix on time. Please don't look for an ending, you just can move around and interact a little bit with things.

The story was supposed to be way more ambicious and I guess next time I will try to stick to a simpler idea.

I thought on submitting anyway, because this was my first LD and I would love to get your feedback. I only hope some of it is enjoyable enough for you, guys.

This was done on Clickteam Fusion
All the art was handmade by me
Music made with Bosca Ceoil

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#17Graphics(Jam)4.67
#24Humor(Jam)4.18
#286Mood(Jam)3.50
#439Audio(Jam)3.16
#602Fun(Jam)3.05
#620Overall(Jam)3.21
#808Innovation(Jam)2.68
#975Theme(Jam)2.86

Comments

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:25am

I was looking for the ending for a while. My mistake for not reading your notes earlier haha. Great idea! Clean art and functionality. I liked it :)

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:26am

Fun game, seems like the full story would have been interesting. I really like the main character and the art in general is impressive. The music is good too. Unfortunately, I could not reach the end of the first level. Is the trash can in the toilet supposed to be searchable?

Sourtrance says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:27am

Sorry, after reading again, I realized that there's no ending. Still a very interesting game!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32am

Thank you, guys. I'm sorry that I couldn't finish or at least give it some sort of improvised ending. But I spent too much time in the last hours trying to fix really annoying bugs. Some of them could be fixed, some not. Thank you for your nice comments!

WolfkingW says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:37am

While I'm a little bit sad that the player is confined to the living room and bathroom, I think what you've already accomplished is pretty impressive! The art looks great, and the humor is spot on (there are a few grammar errors here and there, but it's not a big deal). It didn't quite hold to the theme, but congratulations on completing it anyways!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:41am

Thank you, WolfkingW! I had to leave out a third room that was already done because I had no time to implement it :(
But I'm so glad you liked it! Even with the grammar errors (english is not my mother tongue), so it means a lot to me :)

blohod says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:24am

very nice, love the art, it is a big shame it was not finished, you should continue work on it.

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:48am

Thanks, blohod ^_^ I will!

roninfight says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

It's a real shame it is so short. It's beautifully put together. Nice little tune, great humour, impressive character animation and good environment art in general.

Well done to both of you, and keep rocking ;)

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:32pm

Thank you so much, Roninfight! Well I'm only one person, haha :D But thanks for your kind words. I really appreciate it, man :)

Gravity Games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

It's a shame that you couldn't get the story finished, as the art is amazing, the music and atmosphere are great and the dialogue is hilarious. I really hope you continue this in some form.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:46pm

Well you win for graphics my friend! Great humour: it made me laugh. I can see this will be amazing when you finish it. lease finish it :)

Max Amaden says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:48pm

What an incredible little game! The art is fantastic, and the humour is brilliant as well (the conversations with the skeleton is the best)! Keep up the good work - I look forward to seeing another piece of your work!

timsjostrand says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Was soo disappointed when I realized it was over, would have loved to play more! Humor was spot on (it felt kind of Lucasart-esque) and animation was superb.

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:59pm

It's so great having your feedback, guys! I will definitely finish it somehow. I will update the entry with a link to the finished version, but I can't promise when that would be. Soon, hopefully! Thank you so much for playing my game!

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:32pm

Wow! This has great potential! I really want to see how this game continues!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:44pm

Thank you! :D

Auroz says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:01pm

Nice art style.

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:05pm

Fantastic art, game has some funny elements to it to, its a shame you couldn't finish though, but very nice game :)

the-arrival says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:08pm

Uhh... nice Art. If i would ever make an Adventure i would choose exactly this kind of art, mood and humor. Very sad that it´s so unfinished atm.

blackwires says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:30pm

What a style !

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:37pm

The game would be much more enjoyable if it was narrated. The art and mood of the game is very good.

redzero says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:56pm

Wow, really nice concept! Please add puzzles and some voice to the character, even gibberish words would fit. I'd love to play this as a full game.

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:14am

Actually I thought about adding gibberish words! I think it is a nice idea. I will give it some more thoughts :D Thanks!

OwT says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:16am

Jeff is having issues running on my laptop c': Maybe I'll try later.

treslapin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:13am

The art is amazing! It's a great sampler, you should continue. :)

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:03pm

Man, your graphic and idea are so good!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 3:59pm

Thank you guys :D

Juin says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:52pm

I really liked the art, an option to skip the dialogue if you already read it would've been nice.

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:13pm

Thank you for your feedback, Juin! You're right, I probably will implement that option!

exhidor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:17pm

really nice work !

Pusty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:15pm

The art is amazing! Also I think it is very funny :D
Good job for your first LD even if you didn't finish I had more fun with this than with some other games :D

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 2:17am

That's pretty cool to know, thanks :)

wongcito says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:40pm

I loved the game, specially the graphics! Upload it to itch.io also.

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:18pm

I'll do that, but I prefer to wait until it is complete ^_^ Thank you!

Dege says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:37pm

Ahahahah, we also had the idea, initially, to develop something about a button-eyed kind of monster ;)
Congrats for your drawings. I liked music too, and texts are funny. I'm sad you couldn't finish it, I bet I enjoyed the ending :)

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 12:19am

:)

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 11:52pm

I really liked the art style, nice and consistent.
Good humour also!
Nice!

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:23am

Thanks, Hot Box! :D

XenosNS says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:44am

Looks great, would love to see more.

ruerob says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:15pm

great graphics. I wish you would have finished it! I really hope for a post jam version of this!

Tapehead says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 9:20pm

this is nice little adventure with very suitable comic style and the humor :)

Logicon says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 3:28am

Sometimes i too look into a toilet bowl. And i remember the time i was in flap jaw space, doing a summersault over hairy kairy rock. I need scissors 69.

Ittai Manero says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:46am

:D

Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:17pm

The mood of the game is perfect. Nice sounds, graphics, and the story.. is short, but very interesting. Nice entry ;-)

Dec 31, 2015 @ 6:39pm

I made a small gameplay video for your game! I loved the art, too bad that the game ended up unfinished.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bX2mZVpfm4w

local minimum says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:30pm

Great graphics and very ambitious project. Walked around trying to eat the various things. Generally nice written dialog, but it would have been nice to be able to skip forward with space when you happened to repeat something.

Ittai Manero says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:19pm

Thank you, guys! Hope to finish this little thing soon and update with a post-jam version with all the bugs fixed up. Your feedback is very appreciated!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]