Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

The End Of Radio

by Cake_Catastrophe - Compo Entry

In a diesel-punk future where all long-distance communication has been destroyed, you set out with a convoy of unlikely heroes in search of a great source of power - the legend of the last functional radio station in the world.

Plunder ruins, build up your retinue and establish travel routes between the surviving towns along your journey. Also, the world is now filled with giant man-eating dragonflies. Thought I should mention that.

NOTES!
Running out of supplies is not a game-over - keep playing.
Maps are random and some are hard! If you start surrounded by mountains, it might be worth refreshing!

Additional instructions!

- Towns (Brown Squares) restore your Supplies, allowing you to travel further in one trip.

- Ruins (Yellow Squares) can be plundered for lots of gold (first visit only!).

- Mountains (Grey Squares) are impassable!

- Cities (Blue Squares) act as check points - you can start your next expedition from any City you've discovered.

- The Radio Tower is a red square - you should know it when you see it.

Theoretically it's possible to get an uncompletable map. I've never seen it happen, but I'm sure that means everyone's gonna get it. Ran outta time to fix this bug, though it should be pretty simple, might make a post-compo version if I get (m)any reports?

OH! The theme here is 'growing' by the way - originally in my head it was more of a city builder. When I added a fog of war I really liked how the tiles lit up as you moved around and it morphed into this 'cause I liked it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#50Fun3.90
#94Overall3.84
#143Innovation3.74
#181Mood3.46
#378Audio2.86
#432Graphics3.19
#875Theme3.00

Comments

Elenesski says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:15am

Good idea. Had fun.

deadpixl says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:39pm

Really cool idea, I liked that the previously explored area was still visible to the player! I really liked the entire exploring theme and the revealing of the titles. I feel the supplies could of given more.

Viza says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57pm

Hey this is cool a cool turn-based-exploration-kind game!
I would really like to play an extended version of it with more land to explore, more enemy types, more resources, etc.

zguerrero says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:16pm

Cool game, fun and simple, good job!

MintArcade says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:18pm

Very addictive game play, great fun.

LabOne says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:20pm

Very addictive game.
There was bug, after I have killed enemy on last turn, death sound keeps playing.

walaber says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:39pm

really nice job! very complete idea for such a short time frame. didn't really get much of the theme in there, but this is a nice game!

arzi says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:20pm

Nice! I think this could be a good start for a much larger game :)

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:51pm

Awesome game, took me very long to find a city, but then i found 3 clustered together. Random maps will do that. Lots of fun. Loved the song selection, took me a while to notice it thought.

davisan says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Nice game! The exploration sense was very good!

pvwradtke says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:12am

Good, but very easy to run out of fuel :).

barret907k says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:22am

Very fun.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:06am

I had a lot of fun, even though I couldn't get how to set a new city as a checkpoint. Anyway, nicely done. :)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Great strategic game! Amazing how you made this in 48 hours all on your own. Check out this video made about your game btw: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vqguj6yIwWY The video is also about our game and I thought I shouldn't deny you the pleasure.

ChromeWisp says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Absolutely amazing for a game made in 48 hours! Your interpretation of the growing theme was creative as well.

Blobo says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:56pm

Really cool game! it took me a while ,45 turns, but i got there eventually.

hadesfury says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:23pm

I had great time with your game .. don't understand the variable revenue that seems to be sticked to 10 ...

but I was fun even If I did'nt catch that I had to find the tower ..

but I found it .. and win

Joror says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:53pm

I always like exploration games, and this one has a cool new way for it!
Somehow I did not find a city to restart with, which kind-of limited my playthrough.
Do explore this concept further! :)
(a more finely tuned random map could fix that)

adsilcott says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 6:55pm

I really enjoyed this! I would play more of it if you made a sequel. I noticed that if there's two supply tiles next to each other that you could refill your supplies all the way by going between them. Was this intentional? I thought it made it more fun actually, although it seemed like if we were getting supplies then it should be costing a small amount of gold. I hope you work on this more!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]