Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow-O-Land

by adrian09_01 - Jam Entry

Grow a video game through 40 years, from the early DOS era, through the Windows 3.1, 95, 98 and Modern eras, and conclude it with a fangame from the Indie Renaissance. Includes many jokes:
- Guile's Theme goes with Everything!
- EWJ-style Cow Jokes (including a cow talking in Polish!)
- Free-To-Play episode!
- DLC shenanigans!
And includes many features:
- Achievements!
- Cheats!
- Post-jam extra levels support!

Should work on any XP SP3 or later PC that supports DirectX 9 or later.

Source is a Clickteam Fusion 2.5 file.
Music by me and Caleb Cuzner (legal for non-commercial use)
SFX from Klik and Play libraries (also legal for non-commercial use)

Actually, there was much more planned to this game, including the MGS-style stealth part, saving support and a much more extensive final level. Web version was impossible, because of the crashes during the third episode. Because this epic game couldn't be controlled with only 2 buttons, only the Growing theme is used here. There's one asterisked out F-word in the fourth episode, if it makes you crazy/sad/something, don't play it. The latest version of the game supports DLC. It will come post-jam. DLC will be posted at www.adrianorzech.tk. If there are unpassable parts in some episode, there is a secret key combination that unlocks all levels. (hint: it's the same combo that enables the cheat console in the girly game series from EA)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#174Humor(Jam)3.40
#195Innovation(Jam)3.60
#583Theme(Jam)3.60
#587Fun(Jam)3.07
#637Mood(Jam)3.07
#692Overall(Jam)3.13
#917Graphics(Jam)2.47
#2001Coolness30%

Comments

d_0o_d says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:26pm

It's a fun concept. the perspective is a little bit weird though, since you see the player from front, but the game is seen from top.

Also, the only challenge in this game seems to be to find the CD?
Maybe if there was some way to lose the game, that would be great!

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 4:28pm

nope, after the Win3.1 era the game grows in scale and you get "Ability to Die" in 20th year/as 20th chest.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:31pm

First of all, I wish I would have never gotten background music ;)

It's a cool idea to apply the grow theme to growing the game itself in content and features.

DecayConstant says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:03am

I tried to beat it but couldn't get past the part with the wall jumping. :(
I did find the little developer's hide out though. :P
I was stuck for a while because I didn't realize I needed to exit to the menu in order to progress.

jachepe says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:10pm

A very innovation game!

Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:29pm

good concept for this. Would like to see it explored more and things like the graphics and sound reflecting the actual graphics and sound of the eras you move through. Had to turn down the speakers as the music got to be a bit grating.

zulman says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:03pm

Achievement for pause screen unlocked! Love idea of growing world :) Hope you'll enjoy our Let's Play Simulator 2016 as well http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=31114

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:26pm

Nice concept very "DLC the video game", could have used more polish but otherwize nice job.

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:34am

+1 for Win 3.1. Is MS paying you? :p

Gemberkoekje says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:47am

I seem to have encountered a bug - after grabbing all the coins, nothing seems to happen. Otherwise, well done!

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:31am

Have you seen an Easter Egg? Take the advancement number (the green one), count the years from 1981 and compare with your title screen. The advancement number is the game's age in years.

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:33am

And yeah, it's the SAME game from the DOS era up to the fourth episode. And we can say that the fangame is also made on the original game's engine :) so they are all the same games, indeed.

adrian09_01 says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 11:37am

And also, the TruttCo. mystery will be revealed in a post-jam DLC, so watch out!

Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:06pm

A very innovative game that has the minor problem of not feeling like a progression through time as it does through the game dev process. Having a platforming segment towards the middle struck me as weird since I don't associate the genre with Windows games. The lack of dialogue options was a little saddening. If you randomized them when you entered the room and only had one option you could have made interacting with the NPCs a little more fun.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]