Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Grow Christmas

by simoroshka - Compo Entry

Explore what you can grow from a small seed. Each time you have two options to choose from.


Graphics: blackboard, chalk and photoshop.
Sounds: phone recorder and audacity.
Music: very old fruity loops.
Code: javascript.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#16Graphics4.49
#45Mood3.94
#134Humor3.30
#148Audio3.47
#149Overall3.71
#173Theme4.08
#278Innovation3.47
#412Fun3.24

Comments

David says ...
Dec 13, 2015 @ 9:02pm

Awesoem art man! Really love it. It has cool soundeffects and what i also very much like is the amount of choices you have with this game. And you are the first one who from all the games I´ve seen so far (I´ve seen like about 7 games) and had the Two Button Controlls as Topic, actually had two buttons in game. Like the buttons you can click on :D . So in summary, I like every aspect of the game. Its simplistic but very nice.

icereci says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:16pm

I really loved the art. Well done. and was that an arrow-apple hedgehog ?

scars377 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:16pm

i got a xmas tree, yay

MorganLeFay says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:18pm

This is a really awesome game! Your graphics are really good and I like all the different choices. My favourite game in this jam so far!

goffmog says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:19pm

Great art and really imaginative use of the theme. Also accomplishes the rare feat of making a short music loop not get annoying after two repeats. Still trying to get to that Christmas tree :)

Rfdshir says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:37pm

Incredible art and mood) It's tiny but still nice game.

Ghen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06pm

i honestly love the art, love the blackboard style, the gameplay mechanic with goofy option and result fit really well
how you can go from plant to porcupine lol

Studiosaurus says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:06pm

Great game! I loved how dalek was equal to christmas tree in christmas points.

Milo says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:07pm

This game is beautiful! It gave me a really whimsical feel - I was greatly amused when I made a Dalek.

pcmaster says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09pm

I love the blackboard graphics, sound is cool, too.

srimech says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:12pm

I grew a lion! This is really nicely done and fits both themes perfectly.

MrDave says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:16pm

Great mood caused by excellent art and nice sounds. I wonder what you used to make the sounds.

Jakob37 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:13pm

It had a nice feeling about it, feeling a bit nice and fuzzy after playing it :) Beautiful visuals, which came together nicely with the sound effects. Well done!

upisfree says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:23pm

So atmospheric. Great!

edgeofcode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:23am

Awesome game even before the comments revealed there's a Dalek to be made!

Jimbly says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:19pm

I found Toothless! Love the two buttons.

David Cookie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:22pm

A lovely idea, nice graphics and references. Well done!

garygreen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:15pm

Loved this idea and it looks great too. Nice work. :-)

jcwelgemoed says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Very nice entry. Some fun combinations.

loxo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:31am

Good art and audio combined with a good concept. I wish it would be more extensive.

beetracks says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:44pm

Great game! Very creative! Nice work! Loved the aesthetic!

UncleChris says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 5:52pm

I really liked the art and the audio is simple but well done, and all the different endings I could grow into. I liked it a lot. Pretty fun, but limited play ability.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]