Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

PunchBOT

by fanus07 - Jam Entry

2 Player punching game.

Each player has 2 controls that allows them to punch and move.

You hold in move to lean back and release it to swing forward.
The same happens with the punch mechanic.

The entire game, including the music, sounds, graphics were made from scratch within 72 hours.

If it does not load correctly you will need to please until it does refresh!
Full screen to see everything!

You will also need to put it in full screen to see the keys.

Player 1 keys: A, S
Player 2 keys: K, L

Enjoy!

P.S this is our first jam and game we have made. We forgot to optimize the raw graphics that we created, which is the reason for the games large size. Sorry! We will fix this later.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#696Fun(Jam)2.93
#791Graphics(Jam)2.87
#814Innovation(Jam)2.67
#883Theme(Jam)3.13
#1024Overall(Jam)2.63
#1952Coolness32%

Comments

freddyw9 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31pm

I can't get the robots to do anything which is too bad because it looks really cool.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:50am

Pretty neat. I like the floppy physics. Simplistic, but fun. Good job!

intXparts says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:05pm

The music and particle effects were some really nice touches! I got into it and started using the robot's head instead of its glove. Fun game, excellent work!

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:00am

Nice game design concept, hand motion and punches.
can improve more on the art and also u can add combo punches etc to make it more addictive.. gr8 for the first jam, try completing the game looks interesting

paruthidotexe says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:06am

one bug if i keep pressing K & L, red looses even with out getting hit..

JohnWatmuff says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 11:31pm

fun! I wish I had more control of my one arm, but definitely fun.

tantumgames says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:17am

Fun game. Nice job.

JamesMowery says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 7:30am

Wasn't working too well on Safari with Mac. Might be some bugs with unity.

zulman says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 8:51am

It's always fun to punch your friend in fighting game :)
FYI: Unable to play from Chrome/Mac.

richardboegli says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:02am

Good job. I found that I could punch myself in the head. Not sure if it actually did any damage.

This is similar to the game that we made, but we had no animation and instead of moving, we blocked instead.

http://ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-34/?action=preview&uid=60190

fermenter says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:16am

Always risky to make a multiplayer game for a ld game, so i applaud you for that. Can't get either robot to respond though. Both fly towards eachother in the center and get stuck.

Afendar says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:58pm

Good game ! mechanic is great fun !

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]