Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Tap Root

by mattlevonian - Jam Entry

A local multiplayer (splitscreen) game where you compete for scarce resources by spreading out a root network.

NOTE: This plays best with 2-4 players, as it is a multiplayer game. Also, the game can only be played with a controller.

So, sorry if you don't have 2+ controllers and friends at your disposal.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#428Innovation(Jam)3.26
#818Theme(Jam)3.28
#848Fun(Jam)2.72
#880Overall(Jam)2.88

Comments

parias001 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:34am

This was very fun to play!
I played it with two friends and we all liked it! It is a really cool concept!

utoxin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:44am

Sorry, don't have anyone to try this with. Looks interesting though.

Troma says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:57am

So confusing. Also, please, use the keybord.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:19am

Sorry, can't play on my mac :(

AzureAspect says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:28am

For some reason my Logitech F310 controller wouldnt work in the game. Wish I could have tried the game, is there something I can do to try and fix it?

DomNomNom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:33am

Wasn't able to play due to the 2+ controllers requirement.

Whoa, what are you doing with half a gigabyte of assets?

SpareWizard says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:10am

I didn't have other controllers (or people...), but I had a good enough time growing around.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:40am

looks interesting need another one to test tho :)

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:57pm

To anyone having controller issues: the game should recognize almost any controller on the planet, try making sure it is plugged in and the computer recognizes it before starting the game.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:40am

An interesting idea, but it really needed more explanation about what was going on. I figured it how to use the controls eventually, but still wasn't sure what the objective is.

xaedes says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:47am

Unfortunately can't play it, looks interesting though

amYk777 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:12am

Requires GamePad? >.<

Geti says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:22am

Dont have 2 controllers to play with at the moment, sorry.

mattlevonian says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 9:15pm

Updated with a patch that hopefully helps provide more feedback about what's going on.

Does not provide keyboard support completely yet.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 10:45pm

Looks interesting)

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]