Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Taskeys

by shanton - Compo Entry

Under the game there is a layout of the alphabetical keys on the keyboard, the key highlighted in green is the up key and the key in red is the down key. Play the game by dodging the obstacles using up and down but pay attention, because they don't stick around for long!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#2073Coolness26%

Comments

pjimmy says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42pm

I like the idea, it's very creative, but it's too hard to mentally map the positions in the keyboard. imo you should at least put letters on the buttons.

Skywilly says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:45pm

An excellent idea. A really interesting typing game !

scottrick says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:46pm

Nice idea, just really hard to map the images to the keyboard before you hit the wall :D

Adolf Jong Un says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:48pm

fun little concept

rockford says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Innovative but hard to master :)

qbicfeet says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:37pm

Very innovative and fun. Finding the right keys on the keyboard is difficult, but I like a good challenge.

Jod says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:13pm

Pretty cool concept. Takes some real work to do, mentally.

freaknarf says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:00pm

Nice concept, maybe 2 little suggestions : sometimes it's a bit hard some having the music starting from the start when you die quick is a bit annoying...
The Ludum Dare window is a bit smaller than the game...
Interesting it makes the brain work !

kailijan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:44pm

Really catchy game! Well done.

Sir Magic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Nice idea but please map out letters on keys.

MemoryLeek says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:31am

A great game is sometimes hard to play. This was hard and fun! And I dont think its a good idea to put letters on the keys, countries Thanks!

PixelMonkey says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 12:31am

I really, really like what you've done with the 2 button controls concept: changing them up like that is fantastic. That said, I feel like the keys need to be labelled or something, because it felt overwhelmingly difficult to even identify which key was which, and by the time I figured it out the player moved too slowly to react in time. Still a fantastic game though!

srakowski says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:23am

I really love the concept you have here. I wish I was given a little more time in the game to get my bearing with the keys. Well done.

Dec 29, 2015 @ 2:52pm

Wow, this idea is great, but I think it's too hard without knowing the exact keys to press. Maybe you could split the game in a few levels of difficulty.

I am not sure, so I have to ask: Did you fix the problem caused by different keyboard-layouts?

But anyway: It's a nice game! Good job.

Knowledge says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:01pm

Innovative game, music is excellent so you could put a link (I found it by hacking the game - https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/49110119/app.nw/BackMusic.mp3)

A bit hard but still good game.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]