Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Highwind

by rkhadder - Jam Entry

*This is our first LD and we are really appreciative of the support, cheers!

Highwind is a PC game where you play as an armed hotair balloon and try to survive as long as possible before dying. As you play you grow your balloon to become more powerful and agile.


MECHANICS
------------
Kill an enemy
Hit SPACE to go into editing mode
Attach objects that fall off enemy onto yourself

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#349Innovation(Jam)3.36
#635Fun(Jam)3.00
#806Graphics(Jam)2.85
#810Theme(Jam)3.29
#839Overall(Jam)2.96

Comments

Tusoalsob says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30pm

Realy a great idea for a game.
It choud use a bit zooming out when you ship gets bigger.
And enemys that spawn in sice in relation to your ship.
And more different bloks to build with.
And better enemy ai.
And different waepons.
And better building connections ( they are a bit buggy ).

But overall realy nice Idea that fills the theme Growing realy good, and is a s game concept not that mutsh overused.

chaomoon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:27pm

cool idea! it was a bit confusing at first, but then i figured out that i was supposed to shoot with the mouse. i had a lot of fun attaching stuff to my ship, but then i accidentally took apart my own ship in the process of trying to attach another balloon. i liked it, good job!

Dooskington says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:33pm

Interesting game! The graphics were a bit bland, though.

x92rwzb says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:20pm

Even though I don't usually like these kind of games, this one was pretty good!

thelasthour says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:37pm

Really cool game but it seemed buggy. My cannon stopped shooting after a minute and i couldn't attach any parts to my ship.

mikoĊ‚ak says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:34pm

Nice, original core game mechanic. Although its a big buggy at times (hitboxes for self become ignored, lost the ability to shoot), it's still a lot of fun to build your own lighter-than-air behemoth. Congrats on a fine entry!

rogberth says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:53pm

I really like the idea, with a little more polish and more elements you could make a great game, specially if made online. Good job!

AAGH Games says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:24pm

Pretty fun, Neat idea and like the controls no sound but a little more knowing scoring or something to that effect might be good , Over all I like this game

Blobo says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 8:22pm

Pretty nice game! it was fun and challenging.

Auroz says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:34am

Very interesting mechanic. However, the building seemed a bit limiting after a while.

piper82 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 10:29pm

couldnt quite get it to work, however its a great idea.

felilix says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:00pm

Fun challenging game, really fun, and well done with the AI!

Scipio Xaos says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:25pm

I second Tusoalsob.. Zooming would be nice and the shipbuilding aspect is a bit... glitchy... Other than that.

SO MUCH FUN!!!!!!!!!!!! :D

dcRfj15 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 11:34pm

It took a little while for me to figure out how to play the game, but it is a pretty good game. The idea is clever. I loved the clouds in the background, they made the game feel more immersive. Also, this was an interesting take on the theme.

My main critique is that it was very hard to figure out how to edit the ship, I thought that I was supposed to attach all of the balloons to the original part of the ship. It took me a little while to realize I needed to put on more base blocks (the brick looking things) in order to attach more gunners and balloons. Also, I felt like the game was pretty easy once you had a few additional blocks on the ship. The amount of firepower which the player could attach was able to quickly overcome all of the enemies and if any part of the ship broke, it could easily be replaced.

hyperscope says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 1:13am

Very very unique LD entry! The customizing mechanic was really well done and satisfying. I felt although the graphics were simple it didn't take away from the experience for me rather it added to it. Although there was a few instances of the game crashing, guns not working, getting stuck in purgatory when I died, and going "below" the level. All in all for your first jam great job!

Brightstar says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:19pm

I like it. I played it on the web and couldn't find instructions on the controls but I figured it out.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]