Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

NarNar Jump

by Hackbug - Jam Entry

NarNar Jump is a Runner game for the Ludum Dare 34.

You control NarNar, a nice little pet,
Your goal if to evolve thanks to the food present is in the street.
But NarNar is a little diffucult with his foods.

When NarNar is lv1, he want to taste each food he can find, so Mushroom, Chicken and Maki, but be careful Fishbones aren't food.
Once you eat 5 times, NarNar will evolve, his tastebuds will become more refined, reducing the number of foods NarNar can enjoy,
At lv2 he wil not be able to eat Mushroom anymore, and at Lv3 his taste is so rafined he can only eat Maki.
Eating an edible food will give you 1xp, when you hit 5xp NarNar level up.

If NarNar is in difficulty, he can transform one of his experience points into a fireball who will destroy all walls it come into.

If NarNar eat a bad food, he will downgrade, the same if he hurt a wall.

Your goal is to preserve NarNar's grow. For helping you in this quest, when NarNar eat 3 foods, he gain a shield, it protect you from a downgrade, but you loose all of your xp.


CONTROLS:

SPACE for jump
ENTER for fireball

Or with an XBOX 360 controller:
A for jump
B for fireball

I made this game alone with C++ and my own 2D engine based on SDL2. I created all graphics assets with GIMP, but i'm currently not a good musician, so i took on internet the songs (I will change it when i will able to composed my own).

I'm looking forward to read yours feedback :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness62%
#432Humor(Jam)2.78
#684Audio(Jam)2.30
#725Fun(Jam)2.90
#871Mood(Jam)2.63
#883Theme(Jam)3.13
#946Graphics(Jam)2.37
#971Innovation(Jam)2.31
#983Overall(Jam)2.71

Comments

ss64games says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:26pm

A fun endless running. I like the evolution element, although I wish the difficulty would scale independently of evolving as I had a number of play sessions were I racked up very high scores only going back and forth between level 2 and one continuously.

pcmaster says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:33pm

Made it to level two :) Positive is that you can play it with and without a controller. Theme 100%, good job putting this together!

puddelipip says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:37pm

I enjoyed:
Pacing, the sense of speed is good and at the highest speeds it was still manageable but barely so
Nice touch with the day/night cycle
Cute character

The fireball seemed useless to me (playing with a controller) as it was too much to think about at high speed and unnecessary at low speed.
Unclear if I had three lives or died when deranking to lowest form.

I had fun playing it :)

mockthebear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:54pm

Nice runner! Also i was wondering if you can post the source code too c:

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:35pm

Keyboard controls actually seemed unresponsive during gameplay but I like the evolution mechanic.

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:17pm

awesome graphic

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:59pm

Cute graphics, but very very challenging - would have loved a tutorial showing off which items hurt the dog and which ones didn't

jstan says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 4:00am

Love the gameplay

Ivan Volkov says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 5:22am

When the night comes in sushi looks like an omelette :)
Fun game! Even though I find it really hard to complete even second evolution stage.
Anyway, great entry!

alliel_a says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 6:18pm

nice game !

Tselmek says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:58pm

Addictive gameplay but needs a lot of polishing and balancing. Could never reach my third evolution.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]