Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

SpaceGrown -- Grow your own space station! (TM)

by bushmango - Compo Entry

Grow your very own space station! (tm)
With only two buttons!

Left mouse button - selects menus, builds, etc.
Right mouse button - moves your person.

How it works:

1 Place floors
2 Place pots to grow plants
3 Plants grow and drop presents
4 Collect presents to get new things
5 Build new things
6 Repeat until you die or you have everything and your space base is the BEST!

Please leave comments! I'll play and leave a comment on your game if you do.

Things to do:
- MAKE THE COOLEST SPACE BASE!
- Defend against aliens
- Generate oxygen and don't asphyxiate!
- Collect all of the items
- OMG 40 ITEMS TO COLLECT! WHAT PIXEL MAGIC IS THIS?!

Hint: To check the oxygen levels and where it is leaking, click on the oxygen tab.

WHAT HORRIBLE SPACE HORRORS AWAIT?!

Best luck to everyone!
<3 Stevie


Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#89Humor3.53
#102Overall3.81
#121Fun3.70
#181Mood3.46
#258Audio3.12
#267Graphics3.52
#331Theme3.91
#352Innovation3.37

Comments

Dimitri0xFF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:33am

lol quite crazy. Nice theme, like the space station stuff.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:38am

Very cool game, and very impressive that it was made in only 48 hours.

adamgryu says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:09am

I like the voice-over in the beginning, makes it feel pretty personal! The game is cute, although a bit confusing to start.

misson20000 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:10am

The loop got a bit annoying after a while, but it was pretty fun

danbolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:13am

Oh God, Clippy showed up!

Lots of fun! I liked all the little niches of humour hidden in every item or dialogue. Good game!

Todnut says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:19am

Crazy cool!

JeffCODEblum says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:41am

This is a great entry! Very good especially for 48 hours. It kept me playing long enough to get all the items.

Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:42am

I like it! I spent quite a while building up my ship. If you made a post compo version, it's be cool to see the defense aspect expanded upon. Good job!

Duobix says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:44am

I could have played this for days! Has a lot of content, and is super fun. I love chickens going out of cryo xD

SgtBursk says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:45pm

Really cool! My chicken army is unstoppable! Do the conduits do anything?

bushmango says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:15pm

@SgtBursk - the conduits add myyyyssstteeerrryyyyy ooooooooooooo

Elit3dGaming says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:51pm

The game is great, one thing that I would have loved to have is more screen space so I could have built a bigger ship. But fantastic game!

Ben Allen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43pm

Cool game. I think some of the mechanics could have been explained better, but it was fun and satisfying to build a little space base. The music is really nice, but the sound effects were a little loud.

argowen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:13am

Quite enjoyable some reason it made me think of triple town not sure why when I think about it.

Dalkor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:27am

One of the most entertaining games I've played from LD34. Great all around. Played it a lot longer than I was expecting to. Die alien scum!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:31am

I honestly spent way too much time playing that-- I really enjoyed it! +1 for all of the hitchhiker's guide references.

rzuf says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:23pm

Addicting but... goddammit clippy!
Amazing voice acting and funny writing. :D

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:11pm

Fun game, there are so many random objects to discover! Although I'd rather not discover clippy again ;)

fixedgerald says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 3:56am

Addictive game-play, only complaint I have is the font is hard to read.

knason says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:03pm

I loved this, it was awesome! Really good job! I almost couldn't stop playing!

h.attila says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 10:09pm

Love the idea and it's really well made. I'd love to see an extended post compo version later on.

Blobo says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 3:57pm

This was a pretty neat game! i found it funny how clippy appeared, but it got annoying after the fifth time. very clever game though. i loved it!

bushmango says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Pro tip: Clippy is "summoned" by your distress beacon. Unbuild your distress beacon if you won't want him to come "help" you :)

Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:16pm

Really liked the game, graphics and sound suit it perfectly.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]