Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

TAMAGROW

by gibrel - Jam Entry

This is TAMAGROW!!!!

An ill programed dumb game made in less than 24 hours and (almost) alone.

Thanks for Lambada Sueca for the game idea and Raf Mandwuff for the lovely dino.

=)

Ps.: As Ghen suggested, created an itch.io page for the game. Now is true Web. =))

Edited: Forgot to put instructions in game, so let's go:
Help to grow your dinosaur by accepting his ideas to tend him.
He might want to play ball, eat a hamburger or go into a rampage destroying buildings. Accept or reject the idea before it fades. The score is proportional to how much he grew in 100 seconds of game. Good luck!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness51%
#796Humor(Jam)2.05
#818Theme(Jam)3.28
#903Graphics(Jam)2.52
#929Innovation(Jam)2.40
#1003Mood(Jam)1.86
#1091Fun(Jam)1.71
#1109Overall(Jam)2.23

Comments

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:28am

Instructions would be nice to have.

gibrel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:48pm

You are right VitasaMode.
Now I've put some instructions in this page.
Tanks for your insight.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:14am

I have press buttons, but nothing happen. I can't understand this game, sorry

mockthebear says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:44am

741 score.
i think i made the dinossaur addicted on drugs

Ghen says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:45am

dont get me wrong, but the point of web game is so people no need to download it
try itch.io or gamejolt to host it dude :)
and i press the button, it seems do nothing....
is it a bug?

mathijs750 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:47am

Not sure what happened but I got 799 (points?)

gibrel says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:56am

Don't be hard on yourself.
I could not find time to put things together in order to visually aid the player in their decision making.
An status bar would be awesome for the player to follow up and see his decision making a difference in the character growth.
Yep, a nice and lively HUD.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:39pm

The concept of the game is nice, but the player needs more feedback to know what is happening, a counter from 1 to 100 secs or a time bar to understand it. Try to fix it and the game will improve a lot ;-)

local minimum says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:07pm

Fun little idea for a game. Since one could press the red and green buttons many times while the dino was presenting its ideas, it would have been really nice to get some feedback on that it had at all accepted my suggestion. Also to make it more playable, if there had been some sort of reaction from the dinosaur so the player can learn what was helping growth or not it would be nice. And a meter showing the time left (maybe one should get a little extra time each time you answer a correct answer). Just some suggestions.

monetai says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:24pm

lol wut

liquidmedia says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:27pm

nice for 2 buttons

Haokarlos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:40pm

I was hoping the dino growing at the end of the game. I get 765 :D
I like the idea but the game need more feedback, I don't really know what is happening with the decisions.
Anyways, good job! ;)

Mikaza says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:41pm

Concept is nice but need more informations about what happend :)

Bobsleigh says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:45pm

That thing creeping in from the left....
Need some feedback for you choices. I want my dino to grow in size.

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:36pm

I was really confused by this game, I couldn't figure out if my button presses were doing anything. I like the concept, but you should have some kind of indication for that =P

Masuno says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 12:06am

It was kinda nice, but I couldn't quite understand what I was doing. Some visual feedback would be very nice. Maybe a check or X over the option when you press the button until it fades away would be nice, too.

Aaranos says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 10:23pm

I think seeing some visual or text feedback after a decision would be nice.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]