Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Button Betting

by torcado194 - Compo Entry

Oh no! You find yourself trapped, chained to a desk with TWO BUTTONS in front of you. Play through each of the challenges to get to the MONEY GAME, then bet your hands off trying to GET RICH and ESCAPE!

Good luck!

--------------------------------
CONTROLS:

Left button: any letter on the left side of the (US) keyboard

Right button: any letter on the right side of the (US) keyboard

--------------------------------

I had a lot of fun with this one! I hope you think the game is just as fun :) Thanks for playing! and good luck to all the participants!

---------------------

UPDATE 1:
Hey there was a game breaking bug with the "operator" type game, where sometimes addition or multiplication questions would have a result of '0' or another impossible result, I have fixed that (12/14/2015 10:49 PST) If someone finds this against the rules (though it says this is valid in the rules page) let me know and i'll put the old version back up. Thanks! and sorry if that issue caused any dismemberment ;)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#17Fun4.13
#26Theme4.40
#31Humor3.95
#58Innovation3.99
#59Overall3.95
#123Mood3.61
#172Graphics3.79
#393Audio2.82

Comments

Gread72 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:11am

Over all, you met the theme. Very entertaining

hexagore says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:29am

Mini-games like this are always a treat in LD. Yours has great artwork, tho I found the games brutally hard. Just wanted it to leave my flippin' hands alone! :D Might be nice to play a more balanced post-compo version?

dos says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:30am

Interesting approach and fun minigames. Surprisingly challenging as well!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:32am

@hexagore yeah definitely! I had very little time to balance unfortunately, so yeah it's a litttllee too easy at the beginning and a taadd too hard after like the 5th game haha. (admittedly i haven't even beaten it myself. Who will be the first???)
Thanks for the comments!

paraboxx says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:33am

Some of the minigames are very hard. Cool game overall, though!

Modoc73 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 4:45am

Very nice. Love the art work, the use of different games on the one screen. Meets the theme very goodly. Great job.

floppya says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:05am

Solid effort and a creative variation. NIce work with the graphics, too.

nucleartide says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:23am

My hands! D: Very enjoyable and hilarious game.

VascoF says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 5:27am

Awesome, I loved this one.

hissssssssss says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 2:51pm

There's something really delightful about this game--at least, as far as a game about dismemberment can be delightful. Really gives me some Warioware or Work Time Fun vibes, which is never a bad thing.
I loved the variety of minigames you got working with two buttons, and how intuitive they were. The betting added a lot of tension without feeling unfair. Awesome job!

torcado194 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:48pm

@hissssssssss wow, thanks so much! That's definitely what I was going for with this, I'm glad it showed!

Zarkith says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:21pm

It's a shame we never get to know how much money we have outside of the betting game and shop.

Would've been nice to have a high score to aim for, especially with how addicting this is to play.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:59pm

@Zarkith That's a good point! The amount of money that drops represents how much you get per game, but it doesn't give your total, you're right.
You can make the 'Escape' purchase of $1000 your 'high score' goal then! And if you mean 'high score' as in, higher than other people, know at least that the creator of the game has yet to win ;)
Thanks for playing and commenting :D

nonetheless says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:07pm

Love it! perfectly fitting sounds, challenging and varying gameplay, and ultimately annoying! Amazing job! :)

fluidvolt says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:14pm

So difficult!! Very cool game. Love the two-button snake clone. Also, even though they're blocky pixel hands, the dismemberment is really gruesome and gets to me. It might be the suddenness, but I wince every time. Nice work.

johntherobot says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:33pm

Hahaha I laughed so hard playing this game. Brings back great memories of Warioware Twisted for GBA. Loved seeing screenshots of this before it was done and it didn't disappoint. Congrats.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:15pm

@nonetheless just how I like it ;)
@fluidvolt haha then I did my job well! When i first programmed in the dismemberment (I did all the art and every bit of programming for it at once before testing) I couldn't stop laughing for like 10 mins haha. At that point i knew I had a good game on my 'hands' ;D
@johntherobot ooh sweet! I'm glad you liked the WIP screenshots :D
Thanks everyone!

Tipyx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:58am

Excellent idea, I think an music, like elevator music, will be adequate :D

esayitch says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:32am

Pretty cool, that hand chop animation was very well drawn :D

Minigames were well thought out and I liked that the player got all the feedback he/she needed to succeed in them.

Good job, good luck:)

torcado194 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:11am

@Tipyx woah I had this exact same thought as i was making it! If i had more time I would've considered it!
@esayitch thanks for the compliments!

Piode says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Very fun and a good variety of mini games!

Riftpoint says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:39pm

The most fun game I have played in this ludum dare! good job

crucknuk says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:59pm

Quite funny !

torcado194 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:07pm

@Riftpoint thank you very much!

local306 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:42pm

Great job! Loved the game show / wario smooth moves`esque gameplay. Scared the crap out of me the first time I made a mistake...

newbeings says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Haha I love this. The first time the game changed I was so surprised. Great work.

mortus says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Hilarious concept and solid execution! I always hope I come up with an idea like this for LD but I never actually do. :D

Didn't think it's too hard though. Maybe I haven't played enough, but definitely much more than 5 rounds. Too sad my best attempt failed because I've pressed a button too fast in a snake game and it didn't register. I had around $600 max, bought $500 money upgrade for it and lost the next round.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:01pm

@mortus wow! thats amazing, i think the most i've gotten is like $400 haha. great job! Yeah I've noticed that one issue with the snake game, and i figured it was small enough to not care too much about, but it is annoying.
Thanks for playing!

Zanzlanz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27pm

This game has it all! I was surprised that you had time to add the shop and everything - At first I expected the game to go on forever! Excellent work with everything - I hope you get great scores on this :)

Ludic says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:08am

Its a cool and evil game, man. Some mini games are to hard to get in a small time space

Andrew Deem says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 11:26pm

Nice idea. I like all the mini-games associated with the them. Works really well here. Graphics are nice too. Good work!

So tired of playing snake....

OldPeculier says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 5:12am

Hard! But hilarious. Long laughter here.

justinooncx says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 2:09am

This was incredibly fun, and had quite a bit of depth to it! Well done!

wooltech says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 2:23am

Great stuff, though I lost..erm...escaped...far too often early on. Fun minigames.

bob_fish says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:48am

had a huge amount of fun with this. Everything really fits together and its great. I would love a post-jam version with music and more games (only thing it lacks imo). Excellent work!

komjaur says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 6:53am

fak that game i needed to do math and it was very addicting.More please

Os_Reboot says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 7:35am

Incredible entry. Sounds fit well, audio is awesome. Aesthetic is perfect. Well done, congratulations!

Trasevol_Dog says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:31am

This is great!!! Love the win/lose contrast!

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 3:11pm

Loved this approach. I see potential to funny questions.

klianc09 says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:13pm

This is so hard, but I like it. The money betting feels so unfair, it's really hard getting any money. And some minigames are really tough when it doesn't display the information.

JoseArias says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:19pm

I will not bet anymore in my life. I have lost too many hands haha very fun!

jdoughty says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 4:48pm

Very addicting!

Miltage says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:12pm

This is very clever and tense. Like something you'd see in a Saw movie. "You're about to play a game..."

Justin Mullin says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 5:40pm

Wow these stakes are high. xD Loved it, especially the pure simplicity and tension of the betting game. Nicely done.

bessdlan says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:28pm

very interesting concept and really good use of theme ;)

Dec 23, 2015 @ 8:59pm

hilarious and unique... I love how the game has enough variation to keep you interested and surprised by the next mini game :P

Drauthius says ...
Dec 23, 2015 @ 11:39pm

Hehe, very interesting and fun to play. It's got a lot of depth to it, more than I initially though.

Krafty says ...
Dec 25, 2015 @ 10:20pm

Very cool and difficult game! I was having an issue with it lagging, even on the swf version, so I kept dying at time-sensitive games. Still good though :)

KaiseanGames says ...
Dec 27, 2015 @ 5:12pm

This is gross. :p

I jumped everytime my hands were sawed off.

Interesting concept I must say.

vortex says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:37am

Very nice game, but I am really bad at it... it took me way too long to figure out what I was supposed to be doing and by the time I did, the timer already ran out. You could add some difficulty setting, so that people who can't read quickly can win something too.
Another design flaw I found was the minigame where you had to press a specific button and it said fast, would lead me too pressing the first button quickly over and over again, and causing in my hands getting guilloutined!
Apart from that solid game, with lots of content!

anael says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 10:49am

Fun, reminds me of the first time I played nintendo ds mini-games

Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:00pm

It is a lot like these movies about some underground russian roulette games etc. A real thrill!

camlang says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 3:22pm

This is hilarious. I enjoyed the hell out of it! Make it more friendly for casual players, add some tense music, refine the graphics and bam, you have an instant hit. One of my favourite so far.

jackrugile says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:08pm

Brutal difficulty and a matching brutal punishment for messing up. I loved it!

Aurel Bílý says ...
Dec 28, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Nice! Somewhat brutal, but I enjoyed the game :)

karlipoppins says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 3:30am

This is just awesome!!

Frenchie says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:02am

The fear I felt as I played the games that my hands would instantly be cut off was insurmountable! It definitely made me lose more from nervousness than if you just "lost normally" when you did something wrong.

Awesome game and definitely one of the best this LD! But like others have said, could use some re-balancing (have you beat it yet @torcado194?!?!)

torcado194 says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 4:56am

@vortex thanks for the feedback! yes i definitely agree the 'fast' should be reworded. I guess a good compromise for the difficulty complaint would be to greatly reduce the difficulty if you're seeing the game for the first time, then do it normally afterwards. If I make a post-compo version i'll definitely consider these changes!

@Frenchie thanks so much! and no, I still have not beaten it actually haha. Actually i think its the only game of mine i haven't beaten. I think if i've spent more time playing it I would have beaten it but I've been busy with other things!
Thanks for the comments and ratings everyone! It makes me so happy

EwChap says ...
Dec 29, 2015 @ 5:29am

Fun game. Love the fail state.

yuigoto says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 1:30am

Man, this is simple and quick, but so fun! :P It's perfect to play during work (ooops! shouldn't have said that :P).

Love the graphic style, the use of the theme, the challenge, the build-up for each question's end.

Good Job! :D

Dec 30, 2015 @ 5:56pm

You've been featured in today's Ludum Dare to Believe! Check it out! - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YMqbWKLhbQs

kmakai says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Awesome job! I think the only thing that would make this better is some suspenseful music in the background.

torcado194 says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:37pm

@ButtonMasherBros I'm so honored!

@kmakai oh yeah that'd be good!

LeReveur says ...
Dec 30, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Really hard, but very fun ! Well done :)

psychonull says ...
Dec 31, 2015 @ 3:41am

haha pretty awesome! good entry!

Tselmek says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:09pm

Had a lot of fun despite the dozen pairs of hands I'd lost.

oparisy says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 1:20pm

Gross, but addictive due to the variety of mini-games (and injustice of some!). Nice controls idea, not convoluted.

Tapehead says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:12pm

this is hard game but nevertheless it makes fun and is addictive! well done!

eemmbbeerr says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:07pm

Did not expect it to entertain me for so long at first. A very, very pleasant (albeit bloody) surprise!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:21pm

Great game,
Very hard, the money call is terrible ! I did not succeed to esccape.
Look boring the 3 firsts minutes and then you addict ! ^^

drludos says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 6:11pm

Outstanding entry! Very simple but very entertaining / addictive game, I love it! It just lacks a background music IMHO, but the rest is perfect! The graphics are great, the difficulty is challenging but fair, and the gameplay is very fun! Congrats!

ChuiGum says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 10:58pm

Haha funny, and very original. A nice arcade game!

Jan 5, 2016 @ 7:33am

This would be great on oculus.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]