Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Feed The Baby

by treslapin - Jam Entry

FEED THE BABY

Left click to feed the baby.

If the baby gets food on its face, it will get grumpy!! Aim for the mouth. :)

~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Game made by 2 dorks in 48 hours.

Update (17/12/2015)
- Game was a little too hard, baby gets less angry over time

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness81%
#39Humor(Jam)4.00
#134Fun(Jam)3.70
#262Graphics(Jam)3.91
#265Theme(Jam)3.96
#325Overall(Jam)3.52
#332Mood(Jam)3.44

Comments

commodoreKid says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:14am

Bigger baby here :P
I think it's a really simple but clean entry. I guess you chose the safe way. I would recommend you to get out of your comfort zone a little bit. Cute visuals and music btw :)

colinator27 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:08pm

My goodness.... I got quite a big baby....?

Tragon says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:10pm

Just made it through the roof. 10/10 would feed again.
Really cute game!

A small indicator, like the baby closing his eyes before closing his mouth and opening them before opening the mouth again, would have helped.

Dec 15, 2015 @ 12:11pm

Really funny. It feels like a game that everyone can enjoy.
I wonder how a little kid would feel playing it :P

Cheers,
Morco (tyrants.not.found team)

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:09pm

A very attractive game. It looks very nice. I imagine this could do quite well on mobile platforms.

suppi says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:28pm

That's a really cute baby :) good job!

fistmaker says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:31pm

Good game! I think it messed up when I got to the carrots, they made the baby mad no matter what I did...

themadknights says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:32pm

Wow... my baby has a carrot on his eye... xD. Cute game!

bodsey says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 1:50pm

Is there a bug at the carrot stage ? I didn't understand how to pass this step. Very clean and solid game, nice job

treslapin says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 2:09pm

Hey everyone! Thank you for your comments :D And I'm making my way to rate all your games too :D

Tragon - I wish we had some time to do that! You're absolutely right, it would have made the game better. :)

TomenLuca - I make mostly mobile games so I think I'm stuck in that mindset :D

fistmaker & bodsey - Sorry! We should have better feedback for this mechanic. If you throw food at the baby's face, he will get grumpy. So just be careful about getting it into his mouth and not on his face. >_<; We had very little time for testing so we probably should have made the grump meter go up slower.

Leuthil says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:34pm

I would love to play this game but the website hosting the game seems to be down :(

justinooncx says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:39pm

Never before has flinging food at a baby been so fun. I mean, more than usual.

BubsyPoochies says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:57pm

Hey! That's a nice game you have there! Congrats! ^__^

issa says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:15pm

Loved it. I've reached giant baby/cows(?), are there any stages after that?

publicidadeba says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:13pm

FUN, FUN, FUN. What are you waiting for to put this on the apple store?

okusho says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:04pm

Very funny, cute and...big!! I'm love it!! :)

knason says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:48pm

Fun! It was almost as difficult as feeding my own one year old kid. This kid acctullay opens her mouth, which makes it a lot easier :-) good job!

Team Tree says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 11:30pm

Nice :)

Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:18pm

Hilarious game, I like art style and connection with theme!

DrFallos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:49pm

A lot of fun from growing and throw it to his face! Good game!

BeardyBard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 6:10pm

Bring it to mobiles! :)

CMG says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:44pm

This baby sure does have an appetite!

TeamCalin says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:28am

Really fun concept, pretty original! good job :)

aeveis says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:03am

Fun! I could only get the watermelons. I think there's a bug where sometimes I'll still hit the baby even though the mouth is open. I think some hints/feedback for when the baby will close or open the mouth would be useful too. Overall liked style, good job!

philipp says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 1:22pm

Really liked the music.

Good conflict you've got there. "Do I get greedy and try to stuff my baby full in the shortest amount of time or do I take my time, but always reach the next step only by the shortest margin."

But as others said, maybe a few more hints concerning the opening and closing of the mouth would be helpful.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 6:29pm

Very cute game! I like the idea, but I think a gradual indicator for his mood would be nice. Sometimes he would be mad after only 2 missed shots of food and sometimes 10. But I love the concept! The art and sound were really good too!

IAmSpencer says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 4:32am

the art was clean and nice, and the idea was cute/

unfortunately for me, after the baby grows to the point where the camera pans upwards towards the ceiling, I believe the hitboxes get corrupted, because even though I'm throwing the food directly into his mouth, it splatters and he get's angry, and I'm unable to actually feed him.

fun game otherwise! :)

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:37pm

website doesn't load for me.

VitasaMode says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 5:42pm

The website looks like its back up. I loved the concept and minimalist approach. very fun for such a simple game.

scorched says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:29pm

Hahaha, that is fun!

Mar 28, 2016 @ 9:37pm

Funny game! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/BZOhspy6Kt8

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]