Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Pagdo

by Tensoplast01 - Compo Entry

/!\ This game require a xbox 360 controller /!\

You play Pagdo.
The goal is to go as far as possible, but also to pick the more food you can on your way. But you can't eat everything, because you have a food percent. If you go under 0%, or over 100%, you're dead. The percent amount make you bigger or smaller. You can decrese the food percent if you turn the right stick anti-clockwise.
And warning, you don't have time to wait, the wall is following you!

Each control is explained in the game!

This game follow both subjects: Growth and Two Buttons controls.

If you have any feedback, questions, or anything else, please write them in the comments section!

Thanks! :)

Follow me there: https://twitter.com/Delacroix_GD
See other projects: http://cedricdlcroix.wix.com/cedricdelacroix

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#450Audio2.69
#480Humor2.36
#591Innovation2.98
#756Mood2.52
#805Overall2.81
#829Fun2.58
#829Theme3.19
#857Graphics2.15

Comments

timeshapers says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:38am

Doesn't seem to have keyboard support.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:42am

Nope it doesn't, sorry :/

Dec 14, 2015 @ 7:52am

Had to fish a 360 controller out from my big pile 'o' stuff. Not really sure it was worth it. Could never get more than about three seconds in before the wall caught up to me. Not really sure what it has to do with two button controls, even though you say it uses that theme.

Oh, and the music gets grating by the second run, so yeah... about three seconds in.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:07am

It's not a game treating only both subjects. I just add some gameplay to it.
Sorry for the audio problem, I didn't have it on my PC :o
I'm gonna look what's happened

EvanEGibbs says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:49am

That was fun! I actually thought the mechanic of picking up something that's like a powerup giving you a disadvantage was really interesting. The tutorials at the beginning were funny (sorry if you're on a diet!). I wish there was a goal or some progress meter, but the mechanics were fun and the music was rockin. :)

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 8:57am

Thanks! :)

Xgor says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:08am

Interesting concept but it was kinda lacking in depth.
I needed to try to die to lose after I got how it worked.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:13am

I noticed it this morning when I saw friends testing it..
Thanks for your feedback!

muit says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 9:43am

It was cool but I dont have a Gamepad ;(

MCRewind says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:03am

no keyboard support :(

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:11am

Nope sorry :/
I couldn't do a keyboard support because the second joystick input can't work the same with a keyboard, you know...

nunesbarbosa says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:09am

Nope for a lot of reasons.. screen resolution hud doesn't match.
Keyboard or mouse, man!! It is a PC game, not a console.

gene-z says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:31am

Sorry, dont work for me

George says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 11:31am

I quite liked it! The controls kept with the theme which is good, and the growing theme was also obvious. I think with beefed up graphics this could be pretty cool!

NuggetTeam says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:11pm

The idea is good, but the difficulty curve hops at the very start.
The music is loud, but I like it, fits with the difficulty.

alyphen says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 12:16pm

Really addictive, a lot of fun to play. There were a lot of things to think about which gave the game a pretty frantic feel to it. The music added to the intensity. The instructions at the start were as amusing as they were useful. The only area it was really lacking in was graphics: everything was either a cube or a sphere, which is a little lazy.

DivineOmega says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 1:00pm

Really tricky to master! Spinning the right stick every so often while moving with the left is tough to time right.

The music really helps to feel fast paced.

Unfortunately, I can't report back on my score. I seemed to have a bug where the left and right of the screen was cut off. This happened regardless of the resolution I picked. Perhaps it is a Windows 10 issue.

Good game!

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 3:00pm

Thanks everyone for your feedbacks!

nunesbarbosa: A PC Game is not only keyboard or mouse, go more often on steam, you'll see :)

gene-z: i don't know how it is possible ^^' Do you play on MAC?

For the difficulty curve, yes, i should have set it easier at the begin..
Sorry for the graphics, i'm not good at it, and i prefer to keep standard shapes than bad 3D assets :/

DivineOmega: For the resolution, one of my friend test the game with windows 10 and he had no problem :/ Don't know from where it comes.

ProjectX593 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 6:06pm

Being too fat to fit through the maze is pretty funny. I sometimes seemed to lose food twice for one twirl of the right stick but other than that it's a fairly challenging game, nicely done!

Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:20pm

I love your art style

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:31pm

Thanks. Aden, isn't that ironic? Haha!

Robin says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:32pm

Don't have an Xbox 360 controller so I can't play it :(

Tom says ...
Dec 14, 2015 @ 10:58pm

Pretty neat. I hated having to move my thumb in circles though lol. but overall fun. Also for some reason the sides of the screen were cut off for me. Noticed someone said audio issues. I didn't have any.

Frenchie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:15am

Hey, nice job! It took a while to get used to it but once I tried to constantly maintain ~50% size I was able to get a lot farther.

I see some people are having trouble getting things to display correctly. I had to play at 1920x1080 for it to display properly. One suggestion I have is to make a Unity Web Player build and upload that somewhere (Gamejolt.com, itch.io, and others are very easy to get your game on). That way you can control the screen resolution and make sure everyone will see it properly!

P.S. I replied to your comment in my game :)

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:15am

Thanks all!
Yeah it's hard at the beginning, i know :p
Yep, when I'll have more time I do a web player build!

@Frenchie: Haha i noticed, and later I understood how to play, you're game is one of the best for me :)

monsterkillu says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:43am

Looks good and felt good. Only the difficulty was a bit high. If the gameplay was smooth and difficulty curve was leveled, could be more fun to play. :)

Nadelta says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:01am

Wahou best game ever for a ludum dare, I love It, I love you, I want to meet you in real life. Amazing gameplay and graphism, great idea. You rules, I wish you the best, peace and keep doing good things like that

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:49am

@monsterkillu: yep i think too after many playtests ^^
Thanks!

@Nadelta: Hahahahaha thanks my lady

pjimmy says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:49pm

Not everyone has xbox 360 controllers, and not everyone is likely to waste time installing and configuring a controller emulator just to run your game.
Add keyboard support if you want people to play your game.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:42pm

Or not. As explained, the main mecanic of the game is based on controller. So i don't ask to player without controller to play, I ask player WITH controller to play..

Sorry :/

icereci says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:40pm

I think 260 is not an impressive score :D
Enjoyed the game..

Husky says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 1:55pm

It's difficult, I like the idea of using a gamepad, but I guess it would be better if it's optional?

adaFish says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:48pm

It took me a little bit to get the hang of this, but it was fun once I did. The tutorials were pretty funny. Controls feel good once you get the hang of them; cycling counterclockwise to lose weight was a really cool idea.

MalyTimi says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:53pm

It work for my standard game pad but i can't do the counter clockwise turn, the right stick do nothing. But very good music loop :D

Peekotus says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 12:35am

A shame that this does not have keyboard support keyboard but i fished my controller out of my closet and played it. Audio is repetitive.

Tensoplast01 says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:26am

Hi everyone, thanks for your feedback.

@icereci: It depends of what you mean by "impressive score" ;)

@Husky: Thanks, but no, i can't, because the mecanic to turn the joystick anticlockwise wouldn't work well if it had been controlled by a keyboard (or a mouse)

@adaFish: Thanks, nice to see that you like this mecanic :)

@MalyTimi: Oh, what's your standard gamepad?

@Peekotus: As said, the mecanic to turn the joystick anticlockwise wouldn't work well if it had been controlled by a keyboard (or a mouse).

Atridas says ...
Dec 18, 2015 @ 9:37pm

Nice base mechanic. Gameplay can be refined (specially wall collision) but the idea looks promising. Great job.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]