Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Beanstalkers Extreme: Takin' Out The Trash

by ambocclusion - Jam Entry

Ever have some really cruddy neighbors? Have they ever thrown their trash on your lawn and you've had to clean it the next day? This guy too. Except his neighbors are giants, and the trash is leaving craters in his village. It's time to do something about it.

Used both themes, Two Button Controls and Growth. For the most part finished except a few little things: the tapping minigame has no fail ending and some music is missing.

Credits:

Art:
Darren Vogt @darrenvogtart

Programming:
Robbie Cooper @rcoop_
Allen-Michael Brower @ambocclusion

Music:
Noah Park

"Lego Construction":
James Gissendaner Jr.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#10Theme(Jam)4.56
#14Humor(Jam)4.28
#125Fun(Jam)3.72
#247Graphics(Jam)3.94
#249Overall(Jam)3.61
#404Audio(Jam)3.22
#456Innovation(Jam)3.22
#1888Coolness35%

Comments

Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:36am

It's going to be hard to beat this concept. I love how absurd and exaggerated the facial expressions are. The 2nd leg of the game is my favorite. The control prompts are perfect too. Awesome job!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:50pm

This game is fantastic, I love the concept and the artwork so much. Great work.

awesomerex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:16am

Humor through the roof! Loved this game and all of the different game play elements. The stealth area with the giant is hilarious. Try getting caught the giants reaction is priceless. Great Job!

Webravenz says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 4:37pm

Very funny ! Good game !

NirabazGAMES says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 9:41pm

nice art

thesnake91 says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 7:57am

Weird! but awesome!

FireSlash says ...
Dec 19, 2015 @ 8:42am

Cute graphics, multiple game sections, humor, and good music to boot. A fine example of a well done Jam entry

If I had to complain, it's short without much replay value; but I enjoyed it none the less.

simon.parzer says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 7:53pm

love the art style and story. Great job!

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Great game! It is a little short but still fun. My favorite part was having to hide/sneak :)

Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:04pm

Did not expect to slam that baby into the earth. Hilarious. Also the different game types also kept it fresh.

Acerio says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:45am

I'm so lost on what I just played, I love it.

Jan 4, 2016 @ 9:41pm

I loved this much more than I thought I would. It's more like a collection of minigames than anything else, but I wouldn't have it any other way. The graphics are what make this game shine.

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]