Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Mount FuJ

by roaringcatgames - Jam Entry

Mount FuJ (fooj)

Description:
Mount FuJ is a take on tower defense, or defend the castle style games. You play as an active volcano trying to protect the village that has popped up just below at your base. The village is under siege from an unknown enemy that is sending wave after wave of pikemen and horsemen units. The village will fight back, but it is no match for the army. You must use your volcanic ways to rain down lava balls on the enemy before all of the buildings are destroyed.

Focus:
We focused on visuals (watercolor-style) and sound, and making them complement one another.

Controls:
Using F and J to charge up and fire out lava balls, you can rain down fireball destruction to save this calm little village, sitting in the middle of this tense battlefield.

Known Issues:
--If an army unit makes it through the village, and off the screen you are unable to finish the wave and continue.
--You must refresh to restart the game


All of the Art and Music were custom generated by the team (see below) and we hope they create a great feeling for the player.

The game was built by:

Zoe Blackwell - https://soundcloud.com/zomblack - Music and SFX
Barry Rowe - @barryrowe - Programming
Loi LeMix - @loilemix - Art

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness54%
#17Graphics(Jam)4.67
#59Audio(Jam)4.04
#73Mood(Jam)3.96
#100Theme(Jam)4.19
#266Overall(Jam)3.59
#314Innovation(Jam)3.41
#522Fun(Jam)3.15
#542Humor(Jam)2.61

Comments

ambocclusion says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 3:09am

Super fun and the audio is satisfying! Relaxing as well, despite death and destruction.

Fathom says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 4:30am

Cool take on the tower defense genre. The music and art were great, and it was a fun play. Great job!

disdanes says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 5:21am

I really love the water color style art and its very simple to play!

Dec 15, 2015 @ 10:52pm

The artwork is really really well done. I love the idea and the volcano is fun to shoot. The music and sound make this entry have a great mood.

Xanjos says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:37am

I like the mechanics a lot (although a visual indicator so you know where the fireballs will land would be nice) plus I love how well the art and sound meld together so nicely.

awesomerex says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 5:11am

Loved the art work. The music was super fitting and played well into the mood. Figuring out the volcano fireball launching mechanic was fun to play with.

Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:00pm

Really nice art and music. The game was good but easy, as I was able to spam the lava balls.

pontooncity says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 5:11pm

Great audio and art. It's tough to figure out how far you're firing, some visual indicator of power/distance would help alot. That didn't really matter because it's too easy to spam the fireballs and stop everything. Couple tweaks would make this much more challenging and fun.

Move127 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 3:58am

I love the art and the sounds. The game itself is incredibly easy if you just repeatedly press the buttons as fast as possible.

FireSlash says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:03am

It's really hard to aim the fireballs. The charge time is quick and there's no visual or audio feedback to indicate how far you are into the charge cycle. I quickly reverted to just spamming the keys as it seemed to be the most effective solution.

Graphics are cute and well done!

Tanton-H2X says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:36am

Really great art style and the atmosphere (full of emotional!)
I think the fireball'semission frequency is a little high?
(it seem like this high frequency may conflict this great atmosphere´╝îmaybe that will cause some contradiction in player's feeling?)
Finally i Repel these army,and the lava smile
everything in to peace~~ I love it~!
awesome concept~

Bumblepie says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:38am

I really enjoyed the visual style, and it was funny how the music and mood of the game was really chilled out despite being about a volcano. The gameplay was simple but effective, and it was great how it was challenging despite the simplicity. One improvement I might suggest would be for more enemies with greater health, or with a minimum time between shots, so that you have to focus down some enemies. Overall a really fun game.

Shivur says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:38am

Very beautiful game.

Jace239 says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 4:50am

The art is beautiful and the music is fitting, but the gameplay was somewhat lacking. Once I figured out the range and timing I could just spam fireballs at a certain distance and guarantee victory. Finally, it'd be nice if there was a quantifiable measure of success as you clear waves. Maybe the village could slowly grow? Something like that. Anyway, good game and good job. :)

el_kloklo says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 8:54pm

Masterpiece for music and art.
I don't know if that's the goal, but I've spammed the F and J command and I did it.
2 advises :
- Maybe some kind of shadow indicator could be nice to have a vague idea where your fire bullet will fall could be nice.
- Some range unit like catapult could add some challenge.

Dec 21, 2015 @ 6:51am

Lovely graphics, first of all! I have to agree that the gameplay needs some polish. Actually aiming is really hard, and spamming walls of fire works fine, so there's very little to actually do. Unfortunately, the spamming sound effects cover up the lovely music you made too.

With a little work, you could have something wonderful here, it's just a shame it's currently held down a bit by the mechanics...

Wevel says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 9:59am

Says my web browser (firefox) doesn't support WebGl, even though I've played other WebGl games. Gonna try the desktop version.

Wevel says ...
Dec 21, 2015 @ 10:11am

Very lovely art and atmosphere, could be better if there was something to stop you from firing fireballs constantly

Geti says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 6:31am

Looked nice. Controlled quite well if a bit sensitive. Very easy to cheese by spamming, haha - would have liked some upgrades and limited fire rate or something, but for what it is - fun :)

chriiis88 says ...
Dec 22, 2015 @ 8:16am

Amazing artstyle and sound but the animations are lacking a little quality. Sadly it's also not very fun to play since it's missing any difficulty (spam f and j, done). This could be great with a little more "spice" in gameplay.

Jan 11, 2016 @ 10:47pm

Very beautiful. I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/qJFJJ6gq7Ak

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]