Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

Don't Stop Drilling

by VideoDog - Jam Entry

"Please remember to drill at all times,
lest you meet an unfortunate demise."

You are being chased underground by a giant monster. Purchase upgrades, collect pickups, and get as far below as you can! Don't forget...

DON'T STOP DRILLING!


Pacman inspired controls:
Z: Move Left
X: Move Right

Tap to move one tile, Hold to move multiple.

Also with XBOX360 Gamepad support!


@VideoDogDev

@Variant_3 - Rick (Art/Design)

@pmlamotte - Paul (Programming/Design)

@carnyth - Devin (Music/Art/Design)

Special thanks to Brett and Mike who gave great feedback during development!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness56%
#41Fun(Jam)4.03
#132Overall(Jam)3.79
#186Theme(Jam)4.06
#276Audio(Jam)3.45
#299Mood(Jam)3.48
#328Innovation(Jam)3.39
#536Humor(Jam)2.62
#603Graphics(Jam)3.28

Comments

Ghen says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:53am

suprisingly fun, easy control, and good flow of progress for the game
i can see this will be an awesome mobile game!

djfariel says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:55am

*Looks at thing behind me* AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!

adsilcott says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 6:58am

Great game! The giant creature startled me at first! The door mechanic is great, and I love that it even has shops. Very cool!

BMacIntosh says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:00am

Really excellent use of two-button controls.

Oski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:28pm

Fun! I wish you had spent a bit more time on the menus, the drawn text looks a bit.. off. Otherwise, it's great! I loved the music.

Big Cow says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:32pm

Really fun! music good. Well done!

Krafty says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:06am

Fun game and great idea! =D

rjhelms says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:24am

Good fun. Controls feel like a good ol' classic arcade game.

Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:32am

Really nice use of two-button-controls! Was really fun, especially with the upgrade system. Good work!

Usanio says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:40am

Cool!

rodlaiz says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 8:55am

Pretty Awesome!

logon13 says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:02am

The mix of door mechanics and digging is amazing.

Suaave says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:13am

Addictive gameplay. Reminded me of Downwell a little, but this one is more fun. :)

oz2mura says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:13am

Really loved this one! When the screen shakes it was horrifying, flying through the lock passwords was satisfying, the music was catchy, and upgrading items with the shop appealed to my rogue-like fan-ness. Overall great game!

http://i.imgur.com/WPl0Mfh.png : my struggles were in vain.

Firellon says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:27am

Whoa! It's cool game, definitely want to see this on mobiles. Nice solution with in-game metagames like ZXXZ-code entering. Quite disappointed with prices in the shop. Also, sometimes you get too far while going left/right, it's hard to precisely move.
Nonetheless, this game is DRILLTASTIC!

GAFBlizzard says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 9:30am

I got to 326. It would be nice if it saved your highscore, or had a way to continue, since just as the game gets interesting, it also gets too hard for me.

Neat idea and very stressful, though.

jackyjjc says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 10:54am

That was a lot of features implemented within 48 hours, well done! The graphics is simple yet effective, works perfectly with the music. I particularly like the music. Game play is solid, the progress and slowly introducing different mechanics is great. One of the best entries I've played.

Dreyan says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:00am

This game's concept was excellent, with a little more time on the assets this is actually the kind of roguelike experience that would do well to be expanded.

TomenLuca says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 11:18am

I did stop drilling... to leave my comment and rating! No but seriously, good job on this game. If you have the time, I would suggest you try and polish it a little, but apart from that, great stuff!

justinooncx says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 12:56pm

A pretty fun game! Took a bit of getting used to, though, but I'm impressed you managed to include a shop!

Dalkor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 4:04pm

Fun game. Excellent use of the two-button theme. Loved the doors.

Bobrocket says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 7:54pm

This game is really cool! Very fun, and nice to control. A bit weird how you mention "Z+X" as well as "A+B" though

crucknuk says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 3:12pm

Nice entry! The concept is interesting and addictive! This game reminds me of guren lagann somehow because of the drill xD Good job ;)

Jan 16, 2016 @ 3:40pm

Neat little gmae! I included it in my Ludum Dare 34 compilation video series, if you’d like to check it out :) https://youtu.be/jZIKMICuSkI

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]