Ludum Dare 34 — December 11th-14th, 2015 — Theme Tied: Two Button Controls, Growing

NOTE: Because of the Theme tie, we allowed everyone to pick either Theme. Using both was optional. To keep things simple, there will still only be one Theme category. Every category in Ludum Dare voting is an opinion, so you’re welcome to rate them as you see fit. But we encourage you to be fair in your scores to people that chose only one Theme, and not both.

ALSO: Itch.io has an experimental game downloader over here. You may find it useful.

Back to Browse Entries

QwertyBee

by Simonaiso - Jam Entry

In this game you play as a drunken bee with a crazy tongue!

Catch and press the right keys and keep him from becoming too drunk.

Have fun!
-----------------

This is my first Unity game, luckily I got programming help from this epic guy: **Olivier Hokke** Thanks dude.

And thanks to you too, Furkan Sonmez.

audio sources:
music - http://incompetech.com/music/royalty-free
sounds - freesound.org

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#77Humor(Jam)3.78
#200Mood(Jam)3.63
#201Audio(Jam)3.58
#390Fun(Jam)3.31
#415Innovation(Jam)3.28
#450Graphics(Jam)3.58
#620Overall(Jam)3.21
#1024Theme(Jam)2.63
#1427Coolness48%

Comments

FurkanFS says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 9:52am

This is the awesomest game ever!! I am typing this with my third new keyboard. The other keyboards have passed away due to this game, because its so freaking awesome!! BRING THIS OUT!!

Oski says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:43pm

The drunk bee is a fun idea. The game is fun as well but it does get repetitive quite quickly.

tayl1r says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:43pm

Pretty tricky!

keanerie says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:45pm

fun mechanics and nice player feedback. feels like it gets really tough really fast though, or maybe i'm not the typer i used to be :O

agilejoshua says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:46pm

Would have liked to see this with actual words so it became a typing game.

Nizar89 says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 7:54pm

Very good gameplay idea.

fafastudio says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:03pm

Funny ! A little bit difficult for azerty users ! :p

Simonaiso says ...
Dec 15, 2015 @ 8:17pm

haha fafastudio, you're right, this game is really focused for players with a qwerty keyboard! But if you excell in this game with a different keyboard, you can really call yourself a pro. Thanks for commenting all!

Xgor says ...
Dec 16, 2015 @ 2:48pm

I love the way you have to swipe to grap the letters. Would be nice with a score counter and a abillity to start on higher speeds as it stars of kinda boring.

rogberth says ...
Dec 17, 2015 @ 8:49pm

Nice little game. I liked the mood

Hot Box Games says ...
Dec 20, 2015 @ 10:53pm

Haha, cute little typing game, the effects were nice, it was nice and complete, I think it would have been better if there were actual words to type. Other than that, great entry!

FrederickK says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:28am

The idea is nice, but I had some problems.
I think it doesn't detect very well the pressing buttons and I think the movement is unnecessary, could be just pressing buttons.
Loved the background!

beetracks says ...
Dec 24, 2015 @ 2:34am

Excellent! That made me laugh! Nice mood and nice gameplay. Good work!

Tselmek says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:46pm

Really fun game, pretty tough.

uthamon says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 12:47pm

Neat game with chilling atmosphere, really fun.

Jan 2, 2016 @ 2:00pm

Liked the combination of movement and typing, thought the movement catching was a unique element for a typing game. Also the additional characteristic of the drunk bew was a funny touch.

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:01pm

Pro:
+ Fun concept
+ Nice graphics (although a bit inconsistent), nice tongue detail and cool audio
Con:
- A bit too easy? It would be nice to have scrambled letters
- Doesn't really fit the theme
Obs:
o Didn't work on Firefox

nihilaleph says ...
Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:01pm

* Great work!

Jan 2, 2016 @ 3:08pm

A bit repetitive and EXTREMELY HARD when you have an azerty keyboard ! ^^
I like games with drunk characters and this bee is a cute one.
Nice graphisms.

radmars says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 1:17am

Adorable! Cool concept, though the idea of a typing game where you have to keep moving your hands out of normal position to the arrow keys to move, or only type one-handed, is a bit awkward. (maybe use the shift keys instead?) Still pretty fun though. Nice work!

sararyCow says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 2:05am

Fun and original game. I get drunk so easly ><.

Echo Team says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:45am

Best game ever! :P

Nega Drive says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 8:56pm

Neat game. Nice presentation. I'm impressed how you managed to make a typing-style game where you deal with arrow key movement as well, while making it not feel overwhelming. Good work overall!

LeReveur says ...
Jan 3, 2016 @ 10:14pm

Very funny, but very hard ! Nice idea to mix a rythm game and left/right move. Good job ! :)

ALobker says ...
Jan 4, 2016 @ 12:45am

That tongue is hilarious!

You must sign in to comment.


Mini Submission FAQ

TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

CAN I ENTER BOTH EVENTS?: You should pick 1 event, whichever you think it’ll do better in. If the idea is strong, and everything plays well enough, you can go Compo. If you’re a perfectionist, and would prefer people to play a more polished game, do the Jam. Historically, more games are entered in the Compo, but with more people and more time, Jam games have the potential to be better (that doesn’t mean they are). Many solo participants do enter the Jam.

If you made 2 games, unfortunately, the website doesn’t support multiple submissions per user. To submit your 2nd game, you will have to make a 2nd account. Only do this if you made 2 games. Alternatively, if one game is better than the other, then consider just entering the better game.

CAN I KEEP WORKING UNTIL THE DEADLINE?: Yes! Immediately after the 48 or 72 hours, we do something called Submission Hour. As the name suggests, it’s an extra hour for you to package, upload, and submit your games. If there were catastrophic issues trying submitting your game, or you misunderstood how submissions work, that’s okay. It happens. We’re flexible. If you need advice, check with the folks on IRC. If you need an admin, get in touch.

CAN I KEEP WORKING ON MY GAME?: Oh definitely! You should! But for the sake of judging, keep the Compo or Jam version around. You can include a link to the Post-Compo/Post-Jam version of your game on your games page, but sure your main links are the original version.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate at least 20 games to improve your visibility (Coolness).

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crashes, win condition, or tiny bugs after the deadline. In a sense, this is like “porting” to support more players. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just fixing mistakes you should have caught had you been better rested.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up. Alternatively, if you just posted it, wait a minute. The cache may not have refreshed yet.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.


[cache: storing page]